Contador guest of honour in Clásica a los Puertos

By Monika Prell

Even if Alberto Contador won't compete the Clásica a Los Puertos de Guadarrama (August 26), he will be on hand as the guest of honour for the event. The winner of this year's Tour de France will have cut the ribbon at the start and he will also be one of the dignitaries to hand over the awards.

The race will be held near Madrid, with the start and finish in Guadarrama. While only one ProTour team, Caisse d'Epargne, will take the start, its stars Oscar Pereiro, Alejandro Valverde and last year's winner Rubén Plaza have confirmed their presence, according to todociclismo.

Aside from Caisse d'Epargne four Spanish Professional teams will compete at the event: Fuerteventura-Canarias, Relax GAM, Karpin Galicia and Andalucía-Cayasur, and three Continental teams: Grupo Nicolás Mateos, Viña Magna and Extremadura – Spiuk, as well as the Portuguese Benfica squad.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1