Colombia - Selle Italia 2006

The Colombia-Selle Italia team has announced its complete 16-rider line-up for 2006. The team gets a substantial facelift for 2006, with only six riders remaining from the 2005 squad and a change of name swapping the order of its title sponsors. New faces include Italians Wladimir Belli and Alberto Loddo, Swedish rider Nicklas Axelsson and Swiss Philippe Schnyder. Departures include Giro mountains runner-up Colombian Ivan Parra and Australians Russel Van Hour and Trent Wilson.

After the team's success in the 2005 Giro d'Italia, when José Rujano finished third and topped the mountains classification, Selle Italia - Colombia announced plans to seek a ProTour licence. However, it will remain a Continental professional team for 2006, having apparently been unable to attain the requirements for a ProTour team in time.

The line-up comprises:

José Rujano (Venezuela)
Walter Pedraza (Colombia)
Alexis Giraldo (Colombia)
Nilton Ortiz (Colombia)
Freddy Paredes (Colombia)
Rolando Trujillo (Colombia)
Uberlino Mesa (Colombia)
Edgardo Simon (Argentina)
Wladimir Belli (Italy)
Gabriele Missaglia (Italy)
Sergio Barbero (Italy)
Alberto Loddo (Italy)
Mariano Giallorenzo (Italy)
Diego Nosotti (Italy)
Nicklas Axelsson (Sweden)
Philippe Schnyder (Switzerland)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1