Champion field for NSW keirin champ's

With a host of Olympic and Commonwealth Games champions, rarely has such a line-up contested both the men's and women's New South Wales' keirin championships, to be held this Saturday night, December 16, at the Dunc Gray Velodrome.

It will make the NSW keirin championship one of the most exciting in years, with Olympic champion Ryan Bayley, Commonwealth Games silver medalist Travis Smith and Commonwealth Games finalist Ben Kersten fighting it out for the title of NSW champion.

The women's keirin final will be just as fierce, with Olympic gold medallist and world record holder Anna Meares fighting for the NSW title against sister Kerrie Meares, junior world's medallist Kaarle McCulloch, Kate Bates and Rochelle Gilmore.

Canadian Commonwealth Games representatives and medallist Travis Smith and Cam McKinnon will also be there, with all riders down to compete in the prestigious Bankstown Sports Wheelrace. Anna Meares and Bayley both said they love coming to Sydney and competing in the Bankstown Wheelrace which they have supported for many years, and they look forward to a great night's racing in Sydney.

For Meares and Bayley, this will be their last chance to have some strong racing in Sydney prior to the Australian championships in February 2007, to be held at the same venue.

Gates open at 5.30 pm with racing starting at 6.30 pm.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1