British National Series gets new organizers

British Cycling selected Frank Jaworski and Paul Hore from Thetford MTB Racing to run the British National Cross Country and Marathon Mountain Bike Series. For 2008, the National Point Series will comprise five events, and a one-day stand-alone National Championship event will also be held. No significant format changes are expected; however the 25km Sunday enduro will be replaced with a 75km enduro. Cross country events will still happen Saturdays.

Referring to Thetford, British Cycling's Mountain Bike Coordinator Roger Wilbraham said, "Their pedigree, as organisers of the excellent Dusk Til Dawn events and the Marin winter series, speaks for itself and British Cycling is confident the new team will run the national series with enthusiasm and efficiency."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.