Brindabella Challenge voted a success

The organisers have voted this weekend's Brindabella Challenge in Canberra, Australia, as a big success, with participants and spectators braving Friday, Saturday and Sunday's cool and windy weather to join in the event.

Australian Capital Tourism's general manager of tourism events, Neale Guthrie, said the Brindabella Challenge, which is Australia's largest variety cycling festival, exceeded expectations for participant numbers, with all but one of its 15 events reaching or surpassing entry targets. "The event also attracted world class Australian and international competitors, including Canberra cyclist and world ranked number one, Oenone Wood, local cyclist Michael Rogers who is also the 2005 World Road TT Champion, Australian and European BMX stars Luke Fint, Garrett Byrnes, Ruben Alcantara and Sergio Layos and our own elite cycling team, Team Velo Canberra."

Guthrie added that partnerships with some of Australia's leading cycling clubs and outdoor event organisers had been a foundation of the event's success, and had helped cement Canberra's reputation as one of the country's top cycling destinations. "Australian Capital Tourism is committed to growing the Brindabella Challenge and to making it a permanent fixture on the local and national event calendar," he said.

Selected results

Troy Glennan (Sutherland Shire) - winner, elite road race
Allan Sieper (Canberra) - 5th place, elite road race
Craig Pearce (Canberra) - winner, mountain bike trials competition 20" pro
Lyndsey Colla (Adelaide) - winner mountain bike trials competition 26" pro
Peter Hatton (Sydney) - winner, 55km mountain bike race
Dylan Cooper (Canberra) - 2nd place 55km mountain bike race
Rosemary Barnes - winner, women's open 55km mountain bike race
Niki Fisher (Canberra) - 2nd place, women's open 55km mountain bike race
Sergio Layos (international) - winner, BMX freestyle competition
Luke Medill (Sydney) - winner, AA men's BMX racing
Josh Phillips (Terrigal) - winner, A men's BMX racing
Carolyn Buchanan (Canberra) - winner, pro open ladies BMX racing
Ashleigh Cragg (Canberra) - winner, girls Teenage Rampage BMX racing
Adrian Sheppard & David Osmand - winners, men's pairs category, People Telecom Urban Polaris
David Baldwin and Julie Quinn - winners, mixed category, People Telecom Urban Polaris
David Simpfendorfer - men's solo category, People Telecom Urban Polaris

More information:

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1