Boasson Hagen voted best Norwegian

Recent T-Mobile recruit Edvald Boasson Hagen was voted Norwegian cyclist of the year in a poll taken by the Norwegian cycling web site Syklingens Verden. Boasson Hagen, the winner of the Paris-Corrèze, Ringerike GP and Istrian Spring Trophy also took stages of the Tour of Ireland, Tour de Normandie and Tour de Bretagne as well as the Norwegian time trial championship.

He beat young BMX rider Andre Fosså Auguiluz with 27.9% of the votes. CSC's Kurt Asle Arvesen was a close third with 21.4 percent of the votes, just 0.1% behind second, while the big sprinter Thor Hushovd was fourth with just 5.3% of the votes. Multiple mountain bike world champion Gunn Rita Dahle Flesjå was a distant 13th with 0.7%.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.