Belgian team for World Cup #1

Belgian national Coach Rudy De Bie has announced his selection for the opening world cup race on Sunday in Kalmthout. It's a formidable lineup as De Bie selected the first nine Belgians from the Superprestige round in Ruddervoorde last Sunday, including winner Sven Nys and in-form Niels Albert. Missing is injured rider Sven Vanthourenhout, although De Bie explained to the Gazet van Antwerpen that, "I can cover Sven Vanthourenhout's injury. But as soon Sven's level comes back, he'll be fighting for a place again for sure."

Belgium's squad for Kalmthout: Sven Nys, Bart Wellens, Niels Albert, Klaas Vantornout, Rob Peeters, Kevin Pauwels, Erwin Vervecken, Bart Aernout, Dieter Vanthourenhout

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1