Skip to main content

Bayern Rundfahrt announces teams

The Bayern Rundfahrt can boast of five ProTour teams this year, including the two German teams Gerolsteiner and Milram, as well as formerly German-based Team High Road. The trio will be joined by two French teams, Credit Agricole and Bouygues Telecom. The race will be rounded out by seven Professional Continental teams and four Continental teams.

Stefan Schumacher of Gerolsteiner will look to repeat his overall win in the race, which runs from May 28 to June 1. Milram won't have Erik Zabel, who won two stages last year, as he will be riding the Giro d'Italia in place of the suspended Alessandro Petacchi, but it will send local rider Sebastian Schwager.

The race's organiser considers Team High Road to be a favourite to take the title this year. The team is sending its top German riders Marcus Burghardt and Gerald Ciolek to contest the event.

Teams for Bayern Rundfarht: Gerolsteiner, Milram, High Road, Credit Agricole, Bouygues Telecom, Ceramica Flaminia, Elk Haus, Acqua & Sapone, Topsport Vlaanderen, PSK Whirlpool, Volksbank, Benfica, Team 3C gruppe, Kuota Senges, Thüringer Energie and Mapei Heizomat.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1