Aussie MTB junior team receives award

At the SBS Television 26th Australian Sport Awards in Sydney this week, the Junior Men's Downhill Mountain Bike Team won the Young Australian Team of the Year Award. The award was accepted by the National Mountain Bike Downhill Coach, Scott Sharples and World Junior Gold Medallist, Amiel Cavalier from Wollongong. Cavalier was also nominated for Young Australian Male Athlete of the Year.

The 7 rider team consisted of:

Amiel Cavalier (Figtree, NSW)
Ayden Eves (Mackay, QLD)
Sam Hocken (Leongatha, VIC)
Hugh Mansfield (St Ives, NSW)
Christopher Panozzo (Tawonga South, VIC)
Liam Panozzo (Mt Beauty, VIC)
Darren Pokoj (Greenbank, QLD)

At the World Championships In Livigno, Italy in September, the young team did remarkably well with all 5 finishing in the top fifteen. Queenslander's Ayden Eves (Mackay), 17, in sixth place and Brisbane's Darren Pokoj (Greenbank), 18 came ninth. Victorian, Christopher Panozzo ( Mt Beauty), 18, was 12th and Sydney's Hugh Mansfield ( St Ives), 18, placed 15th.

Also put up for the same award was the Australian Youth Sailing Team (Hobie 16 Class).

For further information check out: index.php?id=11.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1