Ag2r La Mondiale announced final Tour de France team

Having already announced eight-riders for the Tour de FranceAg2r La Mondiale have added Italian Matteo Montaguti as its ninth and final rider. The decision was made following the weekend of national championships in Europe and decided on the 30-year-old who will make his Tour debut on Saturday. 

Montaguti has ridden seven previous grand tours since 2009 and his selection for the team means he will line up for his second grand tour of 2014 having raced the Giro d'Italia in May.

Ag2r La Mondiale previously announced that its ambitions for the 101st edition of the Tour is to place two riders in the top-15 overall with one of them inside the top-10.

The protected riders for the GC will be Christophe Riblon, Jean-Christophe Péraud and Romain Bardet, who was the best placed French rider in 2013.

The team is also aiming for stage wins through  aggressive racing and will look to be present in breakaways throughout the race while the team classification is also an objective for July.

"These nine riders will, I am sure, once again embody the values of solidarity and performance which are those of Ag2r La Mondiale on this beautiful race that is the Tour de France," said Yvon Breton, deputy general manager of the team.

"I wish them every success and I invite them to make us live great moments of joy and emotion." 

Ag2r La Mondaile for the Tour de France: Romain Bardet, Mikael Cherel, Samuel Dumoulin, Ben Gastauer, Blel Kadri, Sébastien Minard, Matteo Montaguti, Jean-Christophe Peraud and Christophe Riblon.

Sébastien Turgot has been named as the first reserve.


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1