2012 Reader Poll: Hoy wins track rider of the year

After surpassing Sir Steve Redgrave as Britain's most successful Olympian, Sir Chris Hoy is now so famous in the UK that he has a velodrome named after him in Glasgow, and the Scotsman isn't done yet.

Hoy may have only taken one world title in the keirin this year and been left off the individual sprint for the Olympics in favour of Jason Kenny, but he succeeded in claiming gold in twi events in London - the keirin and the team sprint.

He bore the flag for his country in the opening ceremonies, then anchored the team sprint to bring himself equal with the record of Redgrave. He then withstood the enormous pressure and expectations of his home fans to dominate the keirin in a convincing fashion, topping the gold medal record for his country with the sixth Olympic title of his career.

Hoy's power on the bike and leadership off it has earned him high praise from colleagues and competitors alike. Clearly earning the respect of the fans, he topped our poll with almost 44% of the vote.

Australian Anna Meares was our next finisher in the poll with 10.9%. The 29-year-old pulled off a perfect series of sprints to win Olympic gold over her rival Victoria Pendleton, one of the few riders who was able to defeat the British on their home turf.

The gold added to her world title tally (keirin and individual sprint) won in her home country earlier in the year.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Chris Hoy43.92%
2Anna Meares10.88
3Jason Kenny9.59
4Victoria Pendleton9.42
5Laura Trott9.10
6Sarah Hammer7.24
7Gregory Bauge3.47
8Ed Clancy3.08
9Kristina Vogel2.46
10Stefan Nimke0.84

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1