Who are the Tour de l'Avenir winners since 2000 – and what happened to them?

Tour de l'Avenir
Tour de l'Avenir (Image credit: Tour de l'Avenir)

The 2020 campaign saw a string of races cancelled or postponed but for the U23 men's peloton the loss of the Tour de l’Avenir was a huge blow. The French race is often seen as a window to the stars of the future, with Miguel Indurain, Greg LeMond, Joop Zoetemelk and Felice Gimondi among its glittering list of previous winners. 

With the race set to return later in 2021, Cyclingnews looks back at the winners since the turn of the century and how their careers have panned out.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at Cyclingnews.com between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.