Archibald, Larsen net first gold in Milton Track World Cup

Canada, New Zealand, Germany shine in team qualifications

The first Track World Cup to take place in Canada in nearly 20 years opened on Friday in Milton, Ontario, just west of Toronto. Great Britain and Denmark won the only medal events of the first day - the Points Races for women and men respectively.

Great Britain's Katie Archibald took the first gold medal of the weekend with a dominating performance in the women's Points Race. Archibald won the first four intermediate sprints to establish a strong lead that she would never relinquish.

At the halfway mark, Archibald, Canadian favourite Jasmin Duehring, Jarmila Machacova (Czech Republic) and Coralie Demay (France) took a lap on the field to gain 20 points, and the race was down to those four. Duehring took a couple of sprints late in the race to lock up the silver medal, while Machacova held off Demay for bronze.

The men's Points Race started out much tighter, with seven riders dropping the rest of the field. Niklas Larsen (Denmark), Mark Stewart (Great Britain) and Kenny de Ketele (Belgium) swapped the lead until Larsen took a solo lap on the field to score 20 points and lock up the win. Stewart held off de Ketele by four points to take the silver.

Qualifying was also held for the women's and men's team events; the Team Pursuit and Team Sprint. Canada and New Zealand dominated the Team Pursuits, with Canada winning the women's and finishing second in the men's, while New Zealand won the men's and finished second in the women.

The German team anchored by Kristina Vogel were far and away the top Team Sprint squad for the women, while world champions New Zealand won the men's competition.

Full Results

Women's Points Race Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katie Archibald (GBr) Great Britain47 pts
2Jasmin Duehring (Can) Canada38 
3Jarmila Machacova (Cze) Czech Republic24 
4Coralie Demay (Fra) France22 
5Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mex) Mexico12 
6Simona Frapporti (Ita) Italy11 
7Aline Seitz (Swi) Switzerland5 
8Olivija Baleisyte (Ltu) Lithuania5 
9Ane Iriarte Lasa (Spa) Spain5 
10Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Nor) Norway3 
11Qianyu Yang (HKg) Hong Kong, China3 
12Alzbeta Bacikova (Svk) Slovakia3 
13Hayley Jones (GBr) Wales1 
14Wiktoria Pikulik (Pol) Poland  
Women's Team Pursuit - Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Allison Beveridge (Can) Canada  
 Ariane Bonhomme (Can) Canada  
 Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) Canada  
 Kinley Gibson (Can) Canada  
2New Zealand0:04:25.129 
 Racquel Sheath (NZl) New Zealand  
 Bryony Botha (NZl) New Zealand  
 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) New Zealand  
 Kirstie James (NZl) New Zealand  
 Clara Copponi (Fra) France  
 Coralie Demay (Fra) France  
 Laurie Berthon (Fra) France  
 Valentine Fortin (Fra) France  
 Yumi Kajihara (Jpn) Japan  
 Kie Furuyama (Jpn) Japan  
 Yuya Hashimoto (Jpn) Japan  
 Kisato Nakamura (Jpn) Japan  
Women's Team Sprint - Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
 Kristina Vogel (Ger) Germany  
 Miriam Welte (Ger) Germany  
2Republic of Korea0:00:33.810 
 Wongyeong Kim (Kor) South Korea  
 Hyejin Lee (Kor) South Korea  
 Tania Calvo Barbero (Spa) Spain  
 Helena Casas Roige (Spa) Spain  
4Great Britain0:00:33.889 
 Sophie Capewell (GBr) Great Britain  
 Katy Marchant (GBr) Great Britain  
5New Zealand0:00:33.917 
 Emma Cumming (NZl) New Zealand  
 Natasha Hansen (NZl) New Zealand  
 Hetty Van De Wouw (Ned) Netherlands  
 Laurine Van Riessen (Ned) Netherlands  
 Elena Bissolati (Ita) Italy  
 Miriam Vece (Ita) Italy  
 Luz Daniela Gaxiola Gonzalez (Mex) Mexico  
 Yuli Verdugo Osuna (Mex) Mexico  
9Holy Brother Cycling Team0:00:34.282 
 Shanju Bao (Chn) Holy Brother Cycling Team  
 Yufang Guo (Chn) Holy Brother Cycling Team  
 Julita Jagodzinska (Pol) Poland  
 Urszula Los (Pol) Poland  
11United States0:00:34.510 
 Madalyn Godby (USA) United States  
 Mandy Marquardt (USA) United States  
 Tegan Cochrane (Can) Canada  
 Amelia Walsh (Can) Canada  
 Deborah Deborah (Ind) India  
 Alena Reji (Ind) India  
Men's Team Sprint - Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1New Zealand0:00:43.874 
 Edward Dawkins (NZl) New Zealand  
 Ethan Mitchell (NZl) New Zealand  
 Sam Webster (NZl) New Zealand  
 Rayan Helal (Fra) France  
 Melvin Landerneau (Fra) France  
 Francois Pervis (Fra) France  
3Great Britain0:00:44.174 
 Jack Carlin (GBr) Great Britain  
 Philip Hindes (GBr) Great Britain  
 Joseph Truman (GBr) Great Britain  
4Republic of Korea0:00:44.877 
 Chaebin Im (Kor) South Korea  
 Jeone Park (Kor) South Korea  
 Jeyong Son (Kor) South Korea  
5Czech Republic0:00:44.927 
 Martin Cechman (Cze) Czech Republic  
 Pavel Kelemen (Cze) Czech Republic  
 David Sojka (Cze) Czech Republic  
 Alejandro Martinez Chorro (Spa) Spain  
 Jose Moreno Sanchez (Spa) Spain  
 Juan Peralta Gascon (Spa) Spain  
7Chinese Taipei0:00:45.741 
 Shih Hsin Hsiao (Tpe) Chinese Taipei  
 Shih Feng Kang (Tpe) Chinese Taipei  
 Sheng Kai Yang (Tpe) Chinese Taipei  
 Saul Antonio Gutierrez Lopez (Mex) Mexico  
 Roberto Serrano Plowells (Mex) Mexico  
 Edgar Ismael Verdugo Osuna (Mex) Mexico  
Men's Team Pursuit - Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1New Zealand0:03:59.588 
 Campbell Stewart (NZl) New Zealand  
 Thomas Sexton (NZl) New Zealand  
 Jared Gray (NZl) New Zealand  
 Nicholas Kergozou (NZl) New Zealand  
 Derek Gee (Can) Canada  
 Adam Jamieson (Can) Canada  
 Jay Lamoureux (Can) Canada  
 Bayley Simpson (Can) Canada  
3United States0:04:06.084 
 Eric Young (USA) United States  
 Adrian Hegyvary (USA) United States  
 Ashton Lambie (USA) United States  
 Daniel Summerhill (USA) United States  
 Maximilian Beyer (Ger) Germany  
 Henning Bommel (Ger) Germany  
 Jasper Frahm (Ger) Germany  
 Leif Lampater (Ger) Germany  
 Gael Suter (Swi) Switzerland  
 Robin Froidevaux (Swi) Switzerland  
 Lukas Ruegg (Swi) Switzerland  
 Nico Selenati (Swi) Switzerland  
 Roman Gladysh (Ukr) Ukraine  
 Vitaliy Hryniv (Ukr) Ukraine  
 Taras Shevchuk (Ukr) Ukraine  
 Maksym Vasyliev (Ukr) Ukraine  
 Illart Zuazubiskar Gallastegi (Spa) Spain  
 Eloy Teruel Rovira (Spa) Spain  
 Xavier Canellas (Spa) Spain  
 Vicente Garcia De Mateos Rubio (Spa) Spain  
 Niklas Larsen (Den) Denmark  
 Kristian Kaimer Eriksen (Den) Denmark  
 Mathias Krigbaum (Den) Denmark  
 Matias Gunnar Malmberg (Den) Denmark  
 Morgan Kneisky (Fra) France  
 Florentin Lecamus Lambert (Fra) France  
 Lucas Meunier (Fra) France  
 Valentin Tabellion (Fra) France  
Men's Points Race Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Niklas Larsen (Den) Denmark40 pts
2Mark Stewart (GBr) Great Britain19 
3Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Belgium15 
4Wojciech Pszczolarski (Pol) Poland8 
5Andreas Graf (Aut) Austria8 
6Jonathan Mould (GBr) Wales7 
7Vitaliy Hryniv (Ukr) Ukraine7 
8Christos Volikakis (Gre) Greece2 
9Matteo Donega (Ita) Italy-9 
10Morgan Kneisky (Fra) France-12 
11Eric Young (USA) United States-15 
12King Lok Cheung (HKg) Hong Kong, China-17 
13Krisztian Lovassy (Hun) Hungary-18 
14Robin Froidevaux (Swi) Switzerland-18 
15Eloy Teruel Rovira (Spa) Spain-19 
DNFJan Kraus (Cze) Czech Republic  
DNFRobert Gaineyev (Kaz) Kazakhstan  
DNFThomas Sexton (NZl) New Zealand  
DNFFilip Taragel (Svk) Slovakia  


Back to top