TechPowered By

More tech

UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup #3 2011

Date range:
November 26, 2011

November 26, Junior Men:

Van der Poel beats Belgian duo on the line

Brecht Decaluwé
November 26, 2011, 11:39 GMT,
November 26, 2011, 13:19 GMT

Dutchman strengthens World Cup lead

Belgian pair Daan Soete and Wout Van Aert were powerless to stop Mathieu Van der Poel from taking another win in Koksijde.

Belgian pair Daan Soete and Wout Van Aert were powerless to stop Mathieu Van der Poel from taking another win in Koksijde.

view thumbnail gallery

Mathieu Van der Poel won the second round of the World Cup in Koksijde, Belgium. The Dutchman chased Daan Soete (Belgium) and Wout Van Aert (Belgium) for most of the race but thanks to a tremendous last-lap effort he went past the Belgian duo. With his second World Cup win, Van der Poel strengthens his overall lead.

“I had to dig really deep to win this one. I had a really bad start but I felt strong and kept trying,” Van der Poel said. Going into the last lap, Van der Poel still trailed the Belgians by 12 seconds and it seemed that the race was over. “I wasn’t getting any closer anymore. I didn’t go too well through the sand but I managed to ride up a climb where they [Soet and Van Aert] had to run,” Van der Poel explained. “Then they tried to block me but I managed to get around them.” Clearly the Belgians weren’t planning to offer Van der Poel the win on a plate.

The Belgian plan didn’t work out and at the finish line the Belgian duo realized it was a missed opportunity to beat the strong Dutchman. “We worked together to hold him off as we realized he’s stronger,” Soete said. On the final sand section Soete and Van Aert were eventually gapped. “He runs too fast and I was unable to close the gap. It’s not a shame to be beaten by him,” Soete said. Compatriot Van Aert added that Van der Poel didn’t make the difference in the sand. “We were riding well in the sand but we lost a lot on the sections in between,” he said.

Just like the winner, Silvio Herklotz (Germany) bounced back from a lost position as well. Herklotz got away in 35th position but eventually fought back to claim fourth place at almost one minute from Van der Poel. Yorben Van Tichelt (Belgium) was fifth ahead of the duo Romain Seigle (France) and Quentin Jauregui (France). Further back, Andrew Dillman (USA) finished in a decent 17th place on the world championships course of Koksijde.

Van der Poel leads the World Cup with 120 points. Soete (85 points) overtakes Jauregui (78 points) in second place while Van Aert (73 points) is fourth.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Netherlands 0:37:47  
2 Daan Soete (Bel) Belgium 0:00:02  
3 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium    
4 Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Germany 0:00:59  
5 Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Belgium 0:01:04  
6 Romain Seigle (Fra) France    
7 Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France 0:01:49  
8 Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Belgium 0:01:55  
9 Matthias Van De Velde (Bel) Belgium 0:01:58  
10 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium 0:02:15  
11 Anthony Turgis (Fra) France 0:02:33  
12 Andri Frischknecht (Swi) Switzerland 0:02:37  
13 Koen Weijers (Ned) Netherlands 0:02:48  
14 Pjotr Van Beek (Ned) Netherlands 0:02:55  
15 Victor Koretzky (Fra) France 0:02:59  
16 Nadir Colledani (Ita) Italy 0:03:02  
17 Andrew Dillman (USA) United States 0:03:15  
18 Dominic Zumstein (Swi) Switzerland 0:03:20  
19 Stan Wijkel (Ned) Netherlands 0:03:21  
20 Ben Boets (Bel) Belgium-B    
21 Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Belgium-B 0:03:26  
22 Erik Kramer (Ned) Netherlands 0:03:33  
23 Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel) Belgium-B 0:03:34  
24 Ariesen Tim (Ned) Netherlands 0:03:46  
25 Marco König (Ger) Germany 0:03:56  
26 Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Italy    
27 Din Van Den Driessche (Bel) Belgium-B 0:04:04  
28 Hugo Robinson (GBr) Great Britain 0:04:15  
29 Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic 0:04:19  
30 Dominic Grab (Swi) Switzerland 0:04:20  
31 Jelto Veroft (Bel) Belgium-B 0:04:35  
32 Dylan Kowalski (Fra) France 0:04:40  
33 Johannes Siemermann (Ger) Germany    
34 Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland 0:04:42  
35 Bryan Van Rooyen (Ned) Netherlands 0:04:54  
36 Kevin Suarez Fernandez (Spa) Spain 0:04:59  
37 Max Lindenau (Ger) Germany 0:05:04  
38 Felix Drumm (Ger) Germany 0:05:10  
39 Joseph Moses (GBr) Great Britain 0:05:11  
40 Anthony Chamerat Dumont (Fra) France 0:05:27  
41 Steffen Müller (Ger) Germany 0:05:29  
42 Alexander Welburn (GBr) Great Britain 0:05:40  
43 Braam Merlier (Bel) Belgium-B 0:05:45  
44 Joe Kirkham (GBr) Great Britain 0:05:47  
45 Jiri Rehak (Cze) Czech Republic 0:05:53  
46 Piotr Konwa (Pol) Poland 0:06:00  
47 Federico Zurlo (Ita) Italy 0:06:07  
48 Adam Martin (GBr) Great Britain 0:06:16  
49 Tomas Novacek (Cze) Czech Republic 0:06:20  
50 Lukas Spengler (Swi) Switzerland 0:06:27  
51 Simon Hamann-Larsen (Den) Denmark    
52 Karel Svrcina (Cze) Czech Republic 0:06:41  
53 Dennis Wahlqvist (Swe) Sweden 0:07:03  
54 Daniel Lukes (Cze) Czech Republic 0:07:39  
55 Simon Vozar (Svk) Slovakia - 1 lap  
56 Ondrej Glajza (Svk) Slovakia - 1 lap  
57 Sven Fritsch (Lux) Luxembourg - 1 lap  
58 Mateusz Grabis (Pol) Poland - 1 lap  
59 Francesco Pedante (Ita) Italy - 1 lap  
60 Zygimantas Baikstys (Ltu) Lithuania - 1 lap  
61 Luis Junquera San Millan (Spa) Spain - 1 lap  
62 Miroslaw Plotka (Pol) Poland - 1 lap  
63 David Klein (Lux) Luxembourg - 2 laps  
64 Lubos Malovec (Svk) Slovakia - 2 laps  
65 Magnus Skjoth (Den) Denmark - 2 laps  
DNF Rick Theis (Lux) Luxembourg    
DNF Peio Olaberria (Spa) Spain    
DNS Simon Mateju (Cze) Czech Republic    

World Cup standings

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Netherlands 120  pts
2 Daan Soete (Bel) Belgium 85  
3 Quentin Jauregui (Fra) France 78  
4 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Belgium 73  
5 Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) Belgium 71  
6 Romain Seigle (Fra) France 70  
7 Yorben Van Tichelt (Bel) Belgium 51  
8 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Belgium 44  
9 Matthias Van De Velde (Bel) Belgium 41  
10 Pjotr Van Beek (Ned) Netherlands 41  
11 Silvio Herklotz (Ger) Germany 40  
12 Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Italy 35  
13 Marco König (Ger) Germany 32  
14 Koen Weijers (Ned) Netherlands 32  
15 Nadir Colledani (Ita) Italy 30  
16 Anthony Turgis (Fra) France 27  
17 Ariesen Tim (Ned) Netherlands 26  
18 Hugo Robinson (GBr) GreatBritain 23  
19 Andri Frischknecht (Swi) Switzerland 19  
20 Jan Brezna (Cze) Czech Republic 18  
21 Victor Koretzky (Fra) France 16  
22 Andrew Dillman (USA) United States 14  
23 Dominic Zumstein (Swi) Switzerland 13  
24 Simon Mateju (Cze) Czech Republic 13  
25 Stan Wijkel (Ned) Netherlands 12  
26 Stefano Valdrighi (Ita) Italy 12  
27 Ben Boets (Bel) Belgium 11  
28 Yannick Gruner (Ger) Germany 11  
29 Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Belgium 10  
30 Daniel Lukes (Cze) Czech Republic 10  
31 Karel Pokorny (Cze) Czech Republic 10  
32 Erik Kramer (Ned) Netherlands 9  
33 Tomas Novacek (Cze) Czech Republic 9  
34 Berne Vankeirsbilck (Bel) Belgium 8  
35 Michal Paluta (Pol) Poland 6  
36 Riccardo Redaelli (Ita) Italy 5  
37 Din Van Den Driessche (Bel) Belgium 4  
38 Stefano Debellis (Ita) Italy 4  
39 Steffen Müller (Ger) Germany 3  
40 Francesco Pedante (Ita) Italy 2  
41 Dominic Grab (Swi) Switzerland 1  
42 Lubos Malovec (Svk) Slovakia 1