January 31 - February 1, 2015, Tabor, Tabor, Cyclo-cross - CM

Tabor will play host to the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships for the third time in the race's history. When it debuted in 2001, the year Erwin Vervecken claimed his first world title. The race returned to the city in 2010, where Zdeněk Štybar skated around the icy course to victory.

Štybar, again the defending champion, has decided to skip his title defense after separating his shoulder in a crash in Ardooie two months ago. His closest rival one year ago was Sven Nys, but new riders have since surpassed the Belgian great.

A new snow fall blanketed the course this week, but with temperatures hovering around the freezing mark, there should be more mud than ice on the course this year.

A heavy course will favor the young riders Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) and Wout Van Aert (Belgium) who have dominated in recent weeks, but will also play into the skills of Klaas Vantornout, who won the Belgian championships in similarly dismal conditions.

Other favorites include Kevin Pauwels and Tom Meeusen (Belgium). Read the full preview here.

2014 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships  |  2013 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Back to top