January 19-25, 2015, San Luis, San Luis, Road - 2.1

Now in its ninth edition, the Tour de San Luis (January 18-25) has cemented its status both as one of the most prestigious races on the America Tour and as one of the most popular early-season events on the calendar, with a number of high-profile names making the trek to Argentina to kick off their campaigns.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) returns seeking a second consecutive overall victory, while world champion Michal Kwiatkowski is part of a strong Etixx-QuickStep team that also includes Mark Cavendish. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), Carlos Betancur (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Filippo Pozzato (Lampre-Merida) and Dani Moreno (Katusha) are among the star names on show, while the home challenge will be led by Eduardo Sepulveda (Bretagne-Séché) and Daniel Godoy (San Luis Somos Todos), who finished third a year ago.

As ever, the parcours is a well-balanced one, with opportunities for climbers and sprinters alike across the seven stages. The first summit finish comes at the Mirador del Potrero on stage 2, followed by the Alto El Amago on stage 4 and the Filo Sierras Comechingones on the penultimate day. The 17.4km time trial in San Luis on stage 5, meanwhile, could well prove crucial.

Past winners | 2014 Tour de San Luis | 2013 Tour de San Luis | 2012 Tour de San Luis 

Back to top