Kerschbaumer wins U23 cross country

Stirnemann finishes second ahead of Carabin in third

Series leader Gerhard Kerschbaumer (TX Active Bianchi) continued his supremacy of the under 23 men's World Cup cross country with a convincing win at the fifth round in Windham, New York. Kerschbaumer rode away from second place finisher Matthias Stirnemann (Thoemus Racing) during the fourth of the five laps to cruise home with 59-second margin of victory in a time of 1:23:24. Third place was Sebastien Carabin (Versluys-Evenza), who was 1:36 behind the winner.

With 700 feet of climbing per lap, it was a course that clearly favoured those who liked the vertical, but flat tires also played a role. With a high speed descent, sharp rocks claimed tires on Marek Konwa (tenth), and Fabien Canal (seventh). Both were ranked in the top five overall, but had to fight back after dropping many places.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi1:23:24 
2Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team0:00:59 
3Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team0:01:36 
4Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team0:02:23 
5David Fletcher (GBr)0:02:51 
6Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team0:03:06 
7Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:03:13 
8Evan Mcneely (Can)0:03:54 
9Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team0:04:06 
10Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team0:04:16 
11Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One - Cube MTB Team0:04:52 
12Andy Eyring (Ger)0:05:21 
13Fabian Strecker (Ger)0:05:34 
14Mitchell Bailey (Can)0:06:08 
15Marc Metzler (Swi)0:06:39 
16Stephen Ettinger (USA)0:07:23 
17Kerry Werner (USA)0:07:31 
18Jeremy Martin (Can)0:07:36 
19Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team0:07:51 
20Leandre Bouchard (Can)0:07:53 
21Jack Hinkens (USA)0:09:08 
22Evan Guthrie (Can)0:09:55 
23Thomas Sampson (USA)0:10:22 
24Benjamin Buchi (Swi)0:10:46 
25Tyson Wagler (Can)0:10:47 
26Kenta Gallagher (GBr)0:11:19 
27Seamus Powell (USA)0:11:23 
28Kornel Osicki (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team0:11:54 
29Pete Ostroski (USA)0:11:59 
30Jared Stafford (Can)0:12:31 
31Diego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia Team0:13:37 
32Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru - Trek0:14:35 
33Andrew L'esperance (Can)0:15:12 
34Zachary Valdez (USA)0:17:05 
-1lapMitchell Codner (Aus)  
-1lapZachary Hughes (Can)  
-2lapsNoah Tautfest (USA)  
-2lapsRafael Escarcega Salazar (Mex)  
Under 23 men World Cup standings after five rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi362 pts
2Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)250 
3Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix210 
4Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team180 
5Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys - Evenza Team149 
6David Fletcher (GBr)137 
7Markus Schulte-Luenzum (Ger) Focus MIG Team130 
8Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team130 
9Stephen Ettinger (USA)107 
10Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team106 
11Markus Bauer (Ger)100 
12Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team99 
13Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team94 
14Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team82 
15Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Scott Les Saisies69 
16Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One - Cube MTB Team64 
17Jérémy Huguenin (Swi) Giant Swiss Sr - Suntour58 
18Diego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia Team52 
19Ondrej Cink (Cze) Merida Biking Team48 
20Evan Mcneely (Can)33 
21Andy Eyring (Ger)30 
22Leandre Bouchard (Can)28 
23Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru - Trek27 
24Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team27 
25Marcel Fleschhut (Ger)23 
26Olof Jonsson (Swe) Rocky Roads - Orbea22 
27Marc Metzler (Swi)19 
28Benjamin Buchi (Swi)18 
29Jeremy Martin (Can)18 
30Jeff Luyten (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team18 
31Kerry Werner (USA)18 
32Fabian Strecker (Ger)16 
33Rourke Croeser (RSA) Orange Monkey / Cannondale16 
34Kornel Osicki (Pol) JBG - 2 Professional MTB Team16 
35Julian Schelb (Ger)15 
36Mitchell Bailey (Can)14 
37Ivan Smirnov (Rus)14 
38Matthias Rupp (Swi) Team Firebike - Droessiger13 
39Evan Guthrie (Can)12 
40Julien Trarieux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix10 
41Tyson Wagler (Can)8 
42Luca Braidot (Ita)7 
43Shlomi Haimy (Isr) Focus MIG Team7 
44Henrique Avancini (Bra) ISD Cycling Team7 
45Marek Rauchfuss (Cze)6 
46Jack Hinkens (USA)5 
47Kenta Gallagher (GBr)5 
48Bart De Vocht (Bel)5 
49Gilles Sarrazin (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre5 
50Bryan Falaschi (Ita)4 
51Martin Gluth (Ger)4 
52Simon Stiebjahn (Ger)4 
53Thomas Sampson (USA)3 
54Pete Ostroski (USA)3 
55Reto Indergand (Swi) MK - Zentralschweiz3 
56Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X - Bionic Team2 
57Thibaut Bellanger (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre2 
58Hugo Drechou (Fra)1 
Back to top