Johansson holds narrow World Cup lead

Vos trails by just three points after Vargarda round

Swede Emma Johansson held onto a slim three-point lead in the UCI Women's Road World Cup after Sunday's Open de Suède Vargarda. Johannsson won the third round, the Ronde van Drenthe, in the Netherlands in April. She has finished on the podium of every race in the series except the Tour de Berne, where she was fifth.

Johansson lost ground on former World Champion Marianne Vos, who won the Swedish round. Vos claimed her third World Cup victory yesterday. She also won the Trofeo Alfredo Binda and Fleche Wallonne.

Johansson knew exactly where she had to place in order to keep the World Cup leader's jersey going into the next round at the GP Plouay on August 22. "I knew I had to be third if Marianne won to keep the jersey. Three points, its not much, but I still get to ride in the jersey one more time."

The Cervelo TestTeam moved into third overall with Dutch rider Kirsten Wild after her second place finish in Sweden. The team also extended its lead in the teams classification with a win in the Open de Suède Vargarda team time trial on Friday.

World Cup standings after round 8
1Emma Johansson (Swe) Red Sun Cycling Team336pts
2Marianne Vos (Ned) DSB Bank - LTO333 
3Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo TestTeam173 
4Kristin Armstrong (USA) Cervelo TestTeam149 
5Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Team Flexpoint139 
6Ina Teutenberg (Ger) Team Columbia HTC Women126 
7Trixi Worrack (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung121 
8Andrea Bosman (Ned) Leontien.nl95 
9Eva Lutz (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung87 
10Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo TestTeam82 
11Martine Bras (Ned) Selle Italia Ghezzi76 
12Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervelo TestTeam75 
13Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam73 
14Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Team Flexpoint73 
15Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo TestTeam72 
16Noemi Cantele (Ita) Bigla Cycling Team71 
17Chantal Blaak (Ned) Leontien.nl66 
18Nicole Cooke (GBr) Vision 1 Racing65 
19Linda Melanie Villumsen (Den) Team Columbia HTC Women64 
20Christiane Soeder (Aut) Cervelo TestTeam61 
21Carla Ryan (Aus) Cervelo TestTeam50 
22Julia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu - Colnago45 
23Monica Holler (Swe) Bigla Cycling Team45 
24Amber Neben (USA) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung41 
25Claudia Häusler (Ger) Cervelo TestTeam38 
26Kimberly Anderson (USA) Team Columbia HTC Women35 
27Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel (Ned) Team Flexpoint33 
28Mara Abbott (USA) Team Columbia HTC Women31 
29Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Team Columbia HTC Women30 
30Ruth Corset (Aus)30 
31Chantal Beltman (Ned) Team Columbia HTC Women30 
32Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Hitec Products Uck29 
33Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung27 
34Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) DSB Bank - LTO25 
35Iris Slappendel (Ned) Team Flexpoint25 
36Catherine Cheatley (NZl)24 
37Tiffany Cromwell (Aus)21 
38Madeleine Sandig (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung20 
39Bianca Knoepfle (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung20 
40Nicole Brändli (Swi) Bigla Cycling Team20 
41Charlotte Becker (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung20 
42Erinne Willock (Can)18 
43Liesbeth De Vocht (Bel) DSB Bank - LTO17 
44Madeleine Olsson (Swe)16 
45Liesbeth Bakker (Ned) DSB Bank - LTO16 
46Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Leontien.nl15 
47Karin Thürig (Swi) Bigla Cycling Team15 
48Marina Jaunatre (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope15 
49Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam15 
50Mascha Pijnenborg Red Sun Cycling Team14 
51Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Red Sun Cycling Team14 
52Alessandra D'ettorre (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line14 
53Paulina Brzezna (Pol) Red Sun Cycling Team14 
54Latoya Brulee (Bel) Red Sun Cycling Team14 
55Lucinda Brand Leontien.nl14 
56Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Bigla Cycling Team12 
57Jennie Stenerhag (Swe)12 
58Catrine Josefsson (Swe) Bizkaia - Durango - Champion System12 
59Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs12 
60Marta Vila Josana Andreu (Spa) Team Cmax Dila'11 
61Nina Ovcharenko (Ukr)11 
62Valeriya Kononenko (Ukr)11 
63Lesya Kalitovska (Ukr)11 
64Svitlana Galyuk (Ukr)11 
65Emma Skjerstad (Nor)10 
66Kristine Saastad (Nor)10 
67Cecilie Johansen10 
68Elin S. Fylkesnes (Nor)10 
69Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam10 
70Tania Belvederesi (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu - Colnago10 
71Alexandra Wrubleski (Can) Team Columbia HTC Women9 
72Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line9 
73Laura Pisaneschi (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line9 
74Tina Mayolo Pic (USA)9 
75Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam9 
76Jennifer Fiori Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line9 
77Valentina Carretta Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line9 
78Svetlana Bubnenkova Fenixs9 
79Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Safi -Pasta Zara Titanedi9 
80Valentina Bastianelli Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line9 
81Luisa Tamanini (Ita) Selle Italia Ghezzi8 
82Lorena Foresi (Ita) Selle Italia Ghezzi8 
83Nikki Egyed (Aus)8 
84Sophie Creux (Fra) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion8 
85Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus) Petrogradets8 
86Laura Bozzolo (Ita) Selle Italia Ghezzi8 
87Elena Novikova (Rus) Petrogradets7 
88Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl)7 
89Maria Kazachenko Petrogradets7 
90Yulia Iliynikh (Rus) Petrogradets7 
91Emmanuelle Merlot (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope6 
92Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Selle Italia Ghezzi6 
93Catherine Hare Willianson (GBr) Fenixs6 
94Giuseppina Grassi Herrera (Mex) Selle Italia Ghezzi6 
95Florence Girardet (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope6 
96Karine Gautard (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope6 
97Audrey Cordon (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope6 
98Adrie Visser (Ned) DSB Bank - LTO6 
99Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Vision 1 Racing5 
100Isabelle Söderberg (Swe) Team Hitec Products Uck5 
101Joelle Numainville (Can) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion5 
102Line Foss Team Hitec Products Uck5 
103Janneke Ensing Team Hitec Products Uck5 
104Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus) Fenixs5 
105Daniëlle Bekkering (Ned) Team Hitec Products Uck5 
106Alona Andruk (Ukr) Safi -Pasta Zara Titanedi5 
107Anne-Marie Schmitt (Lux) Lointek4 
108Edwige Pitel (Fra)4 
109Christine Majerus (Lux) ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion4 
110Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) Team Uniqa - ELK4 
111Chantal Hoffmann (Lux)4 
112Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vision 1 Racing4 
113Amy Dombroski (USA)4 
114Carla Swart MTN Cycling3 
115Alexis Rhodes (Aus)2 
116Janel Holcomb2 
117Alexandra Greenfield (GBr)2 
118Alice Marmorini (Ita) Fenixs1 
119Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (Fra)1 
120Heather Logan (Can)1 
1Cervélo TestTeam630pts
2Red Sun Cycling Team328 
3DSB Bank - LTO320 
4Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung316 
5Team Columbia HTC Women295 
6Team Flexpoint270 
7Bigla Cycling Team163 
10Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam107 
11Selle Italia Ghezzi106 
13Vision 1 Racing74 
14Gauss RDZ Ormu - Colnago55 
15Team Hitec Products UCK44 
17Top Girls Fassa Bortolo Raxy Line41 
22Vienne Futuroscope24 
25Team Cmax Dila'11 
29ESGL 93 - GSD Gestion5 
30MTN Ladies3 
31United States2 
31Great Britain2 


Related Articles

Back to top