Cavendish, Froome head British long team for Worlds

Armitstead, Barnes among women's team

British Cycling announced today its long team for the UCI Road World Championships in Richmond, Virginia. The federation named 13 riders for the elite men, nine of which will be chosen for the road race, with two spots for the time trial. Tour de France winner Chris Froome and 2011 road race world champion Mark Cavendish top the list.

Lizzie Armitstead, who won two World Cup rounds and the Ladies Tour of Qatar this season, is a favourite for the women's road race. She tops a list of eight riders, six of whom will be selected for the road race. Also in the list are sprinters Hannah Barnes and Lucy Garner, although the former fractured her ankle in the Women's USA Pro Challenge last week.

Great Britain Cycling Team’s Iain Dyer said: “We’ve got a very strong long list of riders from which we will select the final team, and there are some really exciting prospects in the mix, including a few riders who sit outside the British Cycling programme structure. We will be announcing the final team for the UCI Road World Championships in due course.”

Elite Men (road race nine places, time trial two places)
Adam Blythe
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Alex Dowsett
Andy Fenn
Chris Froome
Luke Rowe
Geraint Thomas
Scott Thwaites
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Elite Women (road race six places, time trial two places)
Lizzie Armitstead
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Lucy Coldwell
Lucy Garner
Hayley Simmonds
Jessie Walker
Molly Weaver

U23 Men (road race five places, time trial two places)

Hugh Carthy
Gabriel Cullaigh
Scott Davies
Owain Doull
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Matt Gibson
Chris Latham
Chris Lawless
Alex Peters
James Shaw

Junior Men (road race three places, time trial two places)

Nathan Draper
Alex Braybrooke
Joey Walker
Joe Holt
Joseph Fry
Matthew Bostock

Junior Women (road race four places, time trial two places)

Henrietta Colborne
Eleanor Dickinson
Grace Garner
Elizabeth Holden
Abby-Mae Parkinson

Related Articles

Back to top