Canada bringing large team to mountain bike World Championships

Pendrel, Prémont, Kabush among the favorites for a medal on home turf

The Canadian Cycling Association selected the riders who will represent Canada at the 2010 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships, to be held on home turf in Mont-Sainte-Anne, Québec, from September 1-5, 2010.

"This event is a great opportunity to showcase our talented athletes and the strong national program to Canadian cycling fans in Québec and in Canada. The team we have selected will represent their country with one goal, to win medals," said Jacques Landry, Chief Technical Officer for the Canadian Cycling Association.

The team is highlighted by many of the biggest names in mountain biking such as Catharine Pendrel, Marie-Helen Prémont, Geoff Kabush, Emily Batty, Antoine Caron and Steve Smith just to name a few.

The 2010 edition of the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships marks the third time the event has been held on Canadian soil and is the second time it will be at the Mont-Sainte-Anne resort. Bromont, Quebec, held the first edition of the event on Canadian soil in 1992, and Mont-Sainte-Anne last hosted in 1998.

"Everyone on the team, whether it's athletes or the support personnel, is excited about the World Championships being held in Canada for the third time. People from all ages have an amazing opportunity to come out, celebrate our athletes, see our Olympians, and learn more about the exciting sport of Mountain Bike and Trials," said Landry.

Catharine Pendrel is the current World Cup leader in cross country and also is the current Canadian Champion. Marie-Hélène Prémont, ranked eighth in the World Cup cross country standings, is an eight-time Canadian champion and Olympic silver medalist from Athens 2004. Prémont will be riding on the same hill where she began her development and progressed towards international stardom.

Geoff Kabush is leading the charge in the men's cross country discipline as the only men's rider with Olympic experience in the delegation. Kabush will be surrounded by Max Plaxton, Derek Zandstra and Andrew Watson, the top four at the Canadian Championships race held earlier this summer in Canmore, Alberta.

Emily Batty, who has had a strong summer on the courses of the World Cup tour, will be Canada's best medal hope in the Women's under 23 cross country. Batty is the U23 Canadian Champion. Antoine Caron, who was fourth in last weekend's World Cup race in Val di Sole, will lead the strong junior men's charge.

Canada will be represented by 68 athletes including three Olympians, one Olympic medallist as well as a total of 10 current Canadian champions in various age groups and disciplines. The large contingent is a benefit that comes along with the additional spots given to the host nation. Taking advantage of the large numbers of riders on its team, the CCA is dividing its roster among established athletes and developing ones.

Canadian Team for the 2010 Mountain Bike Worlds

Cross country

Elite women
Mical Dyck
Catharine Pendrel
Marie-Hélène Prémont
Amanda Sin
Jean Anne Mckirdy
Catherine Vipond
Sandra Walter

Elite men
Geoff Kabush
Max Plaxton
Andrew Watson
Derek Zandstra
Raphael Gagné
Matt Hadley
Kris Sneddon

Under 23 women
Emily Batty
Rebecca Beaumont
Mikaela Kofman
Ashley Barson
Cassandre Olivier-Lapierre
Andréanne Pichette
Marie-Claude Surprenant

Under 23 men
Simon Lalancette
Francis Morin
Jared Stafford
Sébastien Cadieux-Duval
Félix Cote
Andrew L’Esperance
Tyson Wagler

Junior women
Laura Bietola
Kristina Laforge
Lauren Rosser
Cayley Brooks
Emily Fisher
Lanthier-Nadeau Andréanne
Valérie Meunier

Junior men
Mitch Bailey
Antoine Caron
Evan Mcneely
Léandre Bouchard
Jérémy Martin
Etienne Moreau
Steven Noble

Four cross

Elite women
Anne Laplante

Elite men
Hans Lambert
Kye Walstrom
Yann Gauvin
Alex Brancier


Elite women
Casey Brown
Claire Buchar
Micayla Gatto
Anne Laplante
Miranda Miller
Vaea Verbeeck
Rebecca Mcqueen

Elite men
Steve Smith
Andrew Mitchell
Jamie Biluik
Dean Tennant
Thomas Vanderham
Rob Fraser
Ryan Vanderham

Junior women

Kelsey Begg
Lauren Rosser

Junior men
Rémi Gauvin
Nick Geddes
Kyle Sangers
Nick Grimm
Tyler Allison
Riley Suhan
Chayse Marshal

Related Articles

Back to top