UCI MTB World Cup XCO #1 & DHI #2 Cairns 2016

Latest News from the Race

Cairns plays host to the first round of the cross-country World Cup and second round of the downhill which got underway early in Lourdes as Aaron Gwin and Rachel Atherton took the victories.

Cairns last held a World Cup round in 2014 with Eva Lechner and Julien Absalon taking the victories with several of the major protagonists returning for more in 2016. Former 'cross world champion Mathieu van der Poel will race his first MTB World Cup and will look to challenge the likes of Absalon, Nino Schurter and Australian Dan McConnell.

In the women's race, Lechner returns with Olympic champion Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesja, Australian Rebecca Henderson likely to challenge the Italian.

A strong line up for the Downhill has also been confirmed with world champions Loic Bruni and Rachel Atherton heading down under to join Cairns' locals Tracey and Mick Hannah and Australian Troy Brosnan.