Women's Tour of Flanders 2016

Latest News from the Race

Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) climbed to the top step of the podium following a nail-biting finale to the Women’s Tour of Flanders. The world champion edged out Emma Johansson (Wiggle High5) by a bike throw to the line in Oudennarde. Two seconds later, Armitstead’s teammate Chantal Blaak won the chase group sprint for third.


The Women's Tour of Flanders marked the fifth round of the new Women's WorldTour and it took place on April 3 in Belgium. The top 20 women's teams in the world were invited to compete in the 13th edition of the race including the number one ranked team Wiggle High5 with defending champion Elisa Longo Borghini, Boels Dolmans with the current world champion and WorldTour leader Lizzie Armitstead, Canyon-SRAM with Elena Checchini and Cervelo-Bigla with Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio and Rabo-Liv with Pauline Ferrand-Prevot and Anna van der Breggen.


This year's edition took the women on a 140km trek beginning and ending in Oudenaarde. It boasted 10 climbs, including the Paterberg at a maximum grade at over 20 per cent, and six cobbled sections.


At the 2015 edition of the Women's Tour of FlandersElisa Longo-Borghini (Wiggle Honda) won the World Cup after a solo breakaway, holding on to a one-minute lead over her nearest chasers. Her teammate Jolien D'hoore finished second and Anna van der Breggen (Rabo Liv Women) third.



2016 Women's Tour of Flanders2015 Women's Tour of Flanders | 2014 Women's Tour of Flanders | 2013 Women's Tour of Flanders


2016 Women's Tour of Flanders provisional start list


2016 Women's Tour of Flanders - Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team3:43:27
2Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High5
3Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:02
4Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
5Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5
6Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
7Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica-AIS
8Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
9Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal Ladies
10Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:08


Top News on the Race

Related Features