Volta Ciclista a Catalunya 2017

Latest News from the Race

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) claimed his third stage of 2017 Volta a Catalunya to seal his second overall title after his 2009 success. Valverde held off all challengers on an aggressive final day of racing in Barcelona to best Jarlinson Pantano and Arthur Vichot on the line.

Sky's Chris Froome lit up the race on the final lap but work from Movistar and AG2R La Mondiale reeled in the three-time Tour de France winner who conceded over 26 minutes in the GC battle on stage 6.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Stage 7
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team3:08:50
2Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Trek-SegafredoRow 1 - Cell 2
3Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJRow 2 - Cell 2
4Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-HansgroheRow 3 - Cell 2
5Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step FloorsRow 4 - Cell 2
6Aldemar Reyes (Col) Manzana PostobonRow 5 - Cell 2
7Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 6 - Cell 2
8Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-DrapacRow 7 - Cell 2
9George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-JumboRow 8 - Cell 2
10Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-JumboRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team25:27:15
2Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo0:01:03
3Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:16
4Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott0:01:31
5Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:01:34
6Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors0:02:29
7Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:02:56
8Carlos Verona (Spa) Orica-Scott0:03:00
9George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:03:01
10Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:05
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team30:50:19
2Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff Team0:00:07
3Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:17
4Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:27
6Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:31
7Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha0:00:42
8Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky0:00:46
9Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:01:01
10Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:01:16

Top News on the Race

Related Features