Nys victorious in World Cup opener

There were two highlights at the opening round of the 2011-2012 Patrick UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup in the elite men's category. At the start, a slow cameraman from Czech-TV ruined the chances of French champion Francis Mourey (FDJ) and Belgian champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus). Later, in the final corners of the race, Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-KDL) squeezed into and through 20cm of free space between a tree and world champion and home rider Zdenek Stybar (Quick Step-Innergetic), and he then stormed onto the short finishing straight and grabbed his 44th win in the Cyclo-cross World Cup. Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Revor) finished as runner-up ahead of a disappointed Stybar.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet1:06:08
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - RevorRow 1 - Cell 2
3Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quickstep Cycling Team0:00:03
4Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ0:00:37
5Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Revor0:00:38
6Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:00:41
7Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team0:00:43
8Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus0:00:55
9Steve Chainel (Fra) FDJ0:01:03
10Jeremy Powers (USA) Team Rapha Focus0:01:26
11Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus0:01:39
12Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea0:01:44
13Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott - Swisspower Mtb - Racing0:01:48
14Simon Zahner (Swi) Bmc Racing Team0:01:49
15Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank - Giant Off-Road Team0:01:52
16Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink - Leontien.Nl Cycling Team0:01:53
17Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke0:01:59
18Sascha Weber (Ger) Team Differdange - Magic-Sportfood.De0:02:03
19Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti0:02:06
20Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale / Cyclocrossworld.Com0:02:08
21Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike0:02:12
22Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco Cycling Team0:02:20
23Nicolas Bazin (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 930:02:34
24Marco Bianco (Ita)0:02:44
25Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole0:02:46
26Cristian Cominelli (Ita) TX Active Bianchi0:02:49
27Marcel Meisen (Ger)0:02:59
28Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:03:05
29Martin Zlamalik (Cze) KDL Trans0:03:07
30Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink - Leontien.Nl Cycling Team0:03:16
31Karel Hnik (Cze) Telenet - FideaRow 30 - Cell 2
32Jérome Chevallier (Fra)0:03:19
33Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:03:23
34Ondrej Bambula (Cze)0:03:27
35Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles0:03:28
36Vladimir Kyzivat (Cze)0:03:34
37Petr Dlask (Cze)0:03:38
38David Kasek (Cze)0:03:46
39Robert Gavenda (Svk) KDL Trans0:03:50
40Nico Brüngger (Swi)0:03:52
41René Lang (Swi)0:03:54
42Martin Haring (Svk)0:04:04
43Mirko Tabacchi (Ita)0:04:13
44James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale / Cyclocrossworld.Com0:04:22
45Johannes Sickmueller (Ger) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team0:04:32
46Eddy Van Ijzendoorn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:04:47
47Magnus Darvell (Swe)0:04:49
48Vaclav Metlicka (Svk)0:05:02
49Milan Barenyi (Svk)0:05:09
50Kenneth Hansen (Den)0:05:18
-1lapKobus Hereijgers (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling TeamRow 50 - Cell 2
-2lapsMelvin Rulliere (Fra)Row 51 - Cell 2
-2lapsLaurent Colombatto (Fra)Row 52 - Cell 2
-2lapsZdenek Mlynar (Cze)Row 53 - Cell 2
-3lapsMax Walsleben (Ger)Row 54 - Cell 2
-3lapsElia Silvestri (Ita) Selle Italia GuerciottiRow 55 - Cell 2
-4lapsEmil Arvid Olsen (Den)Row 56 - Cell 2
-4lapsDavid Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP - PowerplusRow 57 - Cell 2
-9lapsFabio Ursi (Ita) Team Cbe Tecnoimpianti A.S.D.Row 58 - Cell 2
-9lapsMarco Ponta (Ita)Row 59 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1