Wells deploys tactics successfully to win Subaru Cup short track

The elite men took the short track course shortly after the women. At the start, a tight group formed and stayed stayed together for several laps.

Local pro Tristan Schouten (Rolf Prima Wheels) led the first lap. Then Max Plaxton (ShoAir/Cannondale) made an attack to get to the front. His intent was to bring Todd Wells (Specialized Racing) and Stephen Ettinger (BMC Mountain Bike Racing) to the front with him. The lead was traded between Wells and Ettinger while Plaxton hung in with the front pack.

The heat was challenging to the riders who had to deal with temperatures in the 90s and high humidity. The short track course included climbs and off-camber turns.

Wells took the lead away from Ettinger, who then sat in for a while. His strategy was going to be to hang onto Wells' wheel until the end and try to outsprint him.

The way the course is laid out, the last climb is more likely the deciding point for the race. There was not enough distance for a successful sprint. And since Wells took the last climb ahead of Ettinger, he secured the win for himself.

Ettinger took second for the second time in as many days, while Plaxton took a second third place finish for the weekend.

Wells' teammate, Howard Grotts (Specialized Racing) hung onto a solid fourth place finish while Schouten grabbed the fifth spot in the finish.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Todd Wells (Specialized Racing)0:29:28
2Stephen Ettinger (BMC Moutain Bike Racing)0:00:01
3Max Plaxton (Sho-Air / Cannondale)0:00:11
4Howard Grotts (Specialized Racing)0:00:14
5Tristan Schouten (Rolf Prima wheels)0:00:15
6Russell Finsterwald (cing)0:00:31
7Troy Wells (Team Clif Bar)0:00:54
8Brian Matter (RACC / Trek Gear Grinder)0:00:57
9Keegan Swenson (Cannondale Factory Racing)0:01:02
10Kerry Werner (BMC MTB Development Team)0:01:07
11Payson McElveen (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Facto)0:01:14
12Ryan Woodall (Top Gear Bicycles)0:01:20
13Corey Stelljes (RACC- Gear Grinder)0:01:21
14Darrin Braun (Adventure 212/Specialized)0:01:26
15Eric Thompson (Mt. Borah)0:01:48
16Ryan Geiger (Team Winded)0:01:58
17Lewis Gaffney (Sycamore Cycles)0:02:03
18Tyler Gauthier (Border Grill powered by Quick Stop)0:02:04
19Isaac Neff (5Nines/Cannondale)0:02:11
20Ryan Standish (Ultimate Ride/Lapierre Austral)0:02:26
21Macky Franklin (Santa Fe Brewing-Pivot Cycle)0:02:30
22Mike Phillips (Adventure212/Specialized)0:02:34
23Tyler Coplea (Orbea Tuff Shedd)0:05:32
24David Flaten (US Military Cycling Fueled By)0:06:32
25Justin Piontek (Titletown Flyers)0:07:32
26Joseph Maloney (KS Energy Services/Team Wisconsin)0:08:32
27Skyler Trujillo (Jamis Factory Team)0:09:32
28Jakub Valigura (Sram Rubena Trek)0:10:32
29Nathan Guerra (Vision Pro Cycling)0:11:32
30Chad Cheeney (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Facto)0:12:32
31Drew Edsall (Kenda / Felt)0:13:32
32Sam Chovan (Pabst / Mafia Racing)0:14:32

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews