Waghorn wins first eliminator championship in New Zealand

The New Zealand Mountain Bike Championships finished today with the downhill and cross country eliminator events contested on the slopes of Fringed Hill in the Brook Valley, Nelson. The hot, windy weather continued and the sunshine heralded new national champions in two very tough cycling disciplines - one new and one well established.

The cross country eliminator drew 16 competitors for its first showing on the national circuit. A mix of junior U17, U19 and elite athletes took the challenge during a midday break in the downhill schedule. Raced on a short 500m long course around and through the event village, the knock-out style competition, where four-man heats delivered first and second placed riders through to the next round (while third and fourth were eliminated) had a huge crowd lining the course and urging riders through their heats.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Mathew Waghorn
2Anton Cooper
3Craig Oliver
4Harley Going
5Adrian Retief
6Ben Oliver
7Tom Filmer
8Peter Crampton
9Tom Bradshaw
10Darry Stevens
11Logan Horn
12Rupert Chapman
13Mitchell Campbell
14Bradley Jones
15Nick Miller
16Thomas Mathews

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews