Skip to main content

Rinderknecht prevails in final

Once again, Fort William, Scotland, provided some of the most exciting racing of the season, with a new winner for this second round of the four cross World Cup. At the 10th anniversary event for Fort William, Roger Rinderknecht was the surprise winner of a crash-filled men's final.

The men's race looked to be a replay of what we have seen over and over again: Graves jumping away from his rivals out of the start gate and cruising to the finish line. In the first three rounds, this was exactly how it went, with the Australian riding everyone off his wheel. In the first two rounds, all of the top riders made it through safely, with the exception of Guido Tschugg (Ghost), who was caught out in the eighth-final by the passing skills of the young British rider Scott Roberts, and Rafael Alvarez de Lara Lucas, the former world champion returning from injury. Alvarrez de Lara was a victim of the most amazing pass of the evening by Michal Marosi (RSP 4 Cross), who literally jumped the rock garden to pass him mid-air.

Marosi, Johannes Fischbach (Ghost) and Kamil Tatarkovic all got knocked out in the quarter-final round, leaving Graves to go up against Rinderknecht, world champion Thomas Slavik (RSP 4 Cross) and Romain Saladini in one semi-final, and David Graf, Joost Wichman (RSP 4 Cross), Michal Prokop and Michael Mechura (Chain Reaction/Nukeproof) in the other.

In a stunning surprise, Graves was beaten to the holeshot for the first corner by Savik, and then dropped to last after taking the second corner wide, allowing Rinderknecht and Saladini by him. Despite fighting back, Graves could only manage to recover to third, putting him into the small final, which he easily won for fifth place overall.

Prokop and Wichman were well in front battling for the lead just before the final corner of their semi, when they crashed into each other, allowing Graf to squeeze through for the first spot in the final. Wichman managed to grab his bike first and scramble to the line ahead of Prokop for the second spot.

The men's final saw further crash action. Wichman took the lead, and appeared to be well in control, ahead of Rinderknecht and Slavik as he entered the rock garden. However, he hit the bottom of the rock garden front wheel first, somersaulting over the bars. Even worse, his bike shot sideways across the course, behind Rinderknecht but in front of his teammate Slavik, taking the world champion out as well.

Rinderknecht easily cruised in for the win, followed by a disbelieving Graf, while the two RSP riders slowly picked themselves up and limped across the line.

"It feels amazing, to win here," said Rinderknecht. "My last win, last year in Val di Sole [Italy] was totally different. I won qualifying, and went into the race as one of the favourites. This time, I had a bad crash in practice and hurt my foot pretty bad, so I took it easy in qualifying and only qualified 16th. I really didn't know what to expect. I tried to black it out [his foot], the pain, and not think about it. But it worked out. Joost got a little bit unlucky at the end with a crash when he was leading, but luck was on my side this time. I'm really stoked."

Despite finishing fifth, Graves still leads the men's World Cup standings, with 175 points, followed by Rinderknecht and Graf tied at 150, and Prokop a further 10 points back.

Full Results

Elite Men - Big Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)125pts
2David Graf (Swi)100
3Tomas Slavik (Cze) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team75
4Joost Wichman (Ned) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team60

Elite Men - Small Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
5Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team50pts
6Michal Prokop (Cze)40
7Michael Mechura (Cze) Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof30
8Romain Saladini (Fra)25

Elite Men - 1/4 Finals
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
9Daniel Prijkel (Ned) Team Merida Combee20pts
10Milan Mysik (Cze)17
11Scott Roberts (GBr)14
12Michal Marosi (Cze) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team11
13Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team8
14Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)6
15Lukas Mechura (Cze) Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof4
16Graeme Mudd (Aus)2

Elite Men - 1/8 Finals
#Rider Name (Country) Team
17Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team
18Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lucas (Spa)
19Jakub Riha (Cze)
20Petrik Brückner (Ger)
21Quentin Derbier (Fra)
22Jakub Hnidak (Cze)
23Patrick Campbell-Jenner (GBr)
24Oliver Fuhrmann (Ger)
25Pascal Seydoux (Swi)
26Javier Guijarro Villacieros (Spa)
27Premek Tejchman (Cze)
28Blake Carney (USA)
29Jake Ward (GBr)
30Lear Miller (USA)
31Scott Beaumont (GBr)
32Will Longden (GBr)

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1RSP 4 Cross Racing Team65pts
2Milka Trek MTB Racing Team40
3Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof24
4Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team22
5Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie20
6Team Merida Combee14
7Ghost Factory Racing Team8

Elite Men World Cup standings after 2 rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team175pts
2Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)150
3David Graf (Swi)150
4Michal Prokop (Cze)140
5Joost Wichman (Ned) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team90
6Tomas Slavik (Cze) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team83
7Johannes Fischbach (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team83
8Michal Marosi (Cze) Rsp 4 Cross Racing Team71
9Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze)46
10Michael Mechura (Cze) Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof30
11Romain Saladini (Fra)25
12Scott Roberts (GBr)25
13Daniel Prijkel (Ned) Team Merida Combee20
14Guido Tschugg (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team20
15Milan Mysik (Cze)17
16Scott Beaumont (GBr)17
17Quentin Derbier (Fra)14
18Graeme Mudd (Aus)8
19Lukas Mechura (Cze) Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof8
20Jordan O'keeffe (RSA)2

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews