British National Championships – Preview

British men's road champion Ben Swift (Ineos Grenadiers) will defend his title on Sunday, October 17
British men's road champion Ben Swift (Ineos Grenadiers) will defend his title on Sunday, October 17 (Image credit: Getty Images)

When the red, white and blue jersey worn by the British champion last sat upon a different set of shoulders, coronaviruses, if known at all outside the medical and scientific communities, were known for causing colds and the rarer illnesses of SARS and MERS. In the intervening two-and-a-half years since June 2019 when Ben Swift (Ineos Grenadiers) and Alice Barnes (Canyon-SRAM) took victory in the men’s and women’s elite road race, all that has changed. 

Twice postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the British National Road Championships will finally take place in Lincoln October 14-17, 2021. The national circuit race championship will be included in this schedule for the first time, creating a veritable festival of British cycling in which eight national champion jerseys will be presented. A sportive and the Michaelgate Hill Dash will also be held, allowing amateurs to participate in the festivities. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Thursday, October 14Men’s U23 Individual Time TrialTealby29.4km09:00 – 10:50
Row 1 - Cell 0 Women’s U23 Individual Time TrialTealby29.4km10:30 – 12:00
Row 2 - Cell 0 Men’s Elite Individual Time TrialTealby44.7km12:00 – 14:30
Row 3 - Cell 0 Women’s Elite Individual Time TrialTealby29.4km15:30 – 17:00
Friday, October 15Women’s Circuit ChampionshipLincoln1 hour + 5 laps17:40 – 18:45
Row 5 - Cell 0 Men’s Circuit ChampionshipLincoln1 hour + 5 laps19:00 – 20:05
Sunday, October 17National Women’s ChampionshipLincoln101km09:00 – 12:00
Row 7 - Cell 0 National Men’s ChampionshipLincoln166km13:00 – 17:00

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Issy Ronald has just graduated from the London School of Economics where she studied for an undergraduate and masters degree in History and International Relations. Since doing an internship at Procycling magazine, she has written reports for races like the Tour of Britain, Bretagne Classic and World Championships, as well as news items, recaps of the general classification at the Grand Tours and some features for Cyclingnews. Away from cycling, she enjoys reading, attempting to bake, going to the theatre and watching a probably unhealthy amount of live sport.

Latest on Cyclingnews