Nys rides away to muddy win in Ronse

A stormy afternoon in Ronse turned the already demanding course at the Hotondberg into an even harder test for the riders. The GP Mario De Clercq, the first round of the Bpost Bank cyclo-cross series, was the first muddy race of the season, and Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet-Euphony) dealt best with the hard circumstances and left his last rivals behind in the fifth of seven laps.

“These are circumstances I like though the running sections cut hard into it. My back is bothering me a bit. It wasn’t optimal but good enough to win. The wind and the rain made it hard towards the end of the race,” Nys said, while shivering from the cold in the post-race interview zone.

Czech rider Martin Bina (Kwadro-Stannah) finished as a surprising runner-up at 17s from Nys, just ahead of Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus). The latter tried to respond to the acceleration from Nys but fell short. Some time later he was joined by Bina and in the last lap the Czech sped towards a well-deserved second place. Bina rode near the front of the race during the first laps and he collected ten bonus seconds at the intermediate sprint. As a result Bina is only 12s down on Nys in the time-based general classification while Albert trails the world champion by half a minute.

At the end of last season Bina won the snowy World Cup in Hoogerheide and this year he decided to reside in Belgium during the cyclo-cross campaign. The Czech has already plucked the fruit from that decision. “This was brown mud,” Bina laughed. “The result is a surprise although these technical and hard courses are my thing. It was very cold and very difficult but I’m feeling good. I only made one crash,” Bina said.

That crash happened during the fifth lap and it turned out to be the prelude of the attack from Nys. Nys rode ahead of Bina and seized the opportunity to accelerate while Albert was held up by the Czech’s tumble. Still, Albert felt he didn’t lose the race there. “I lost the race on the off-camber section in the first meadow. I always lost time there. It’s not that I’m going bad there but Sven [Nys] does it better. It was an exciting race but in front it’s still tight. There’s still the Koppenberg and Baal to come. These handful of seconds will not matter. Last year I won the series by more than seven minutes,” Albert said.

Much further back Belgian champion Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Napoleon Games) finished fourth, holding off Marcel Meisen (Telenet-Fidea) who rode a great last lap. US-champion Jonathan Page (Fuji) finished nineteenth, just ahead of Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games). Pauwels crashed early on in the race and never got back into contention. He’s already nearly five minutes down on Nys in the general classification. “During the first lap I was going alright but then I crashed early on and probably hurt my back. I might as well have stopped the race,” Pauwels said.

The next leg of the Bpost Bank cyclo-cross series is held on November 1 at the Koppenbergcross in Oudenaarde. Next week the riders head to Valkenburg for the first round of the UCI World Cup.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team0:57:06
2Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team0:00:17
3Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:00:20
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:01:08
5Marcel Meisen (Ger) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling TeamRow 4 - Cell 2
6Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink/ Leontien.nl ProRow 5 - Cell 2
7Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.0:01:30
8Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:01:36
9Bart Aernouts (Ned) AA Drink/ Leontien.nl Pro0:01:58
10Twan van den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:02:11
11Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:02:15
12Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team0:02:24
13Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:02:35
14Niels Wubben (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.0:02:52
15Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:03:05
16Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:03:10
17Corné van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:03:39
18Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:03:41
19Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike0:03:59
20Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:04:34
21Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga (Spa)0:04:40
22Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team0:04:43
23Mariusz Gil (Pol) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling TeamRow 22 - Cell 2
24Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Coolens Cycling Team0:04:48
25Patrick Gaudy (Bel) The Barracuda Company0:04:54
26Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team0:04:57
27Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:05:34
28Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:05:43
29Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles0:06:03
30Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) DNCS/PRO 2012 Cycling Team0:06:11
31Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team0:06:56
32Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:07:06
33Kevin Cant (Bel) Primator Cycling TeamRow 32 - Cell 2
34Mathieu Willemyns (Bel) MEZ Team Belgium SnellegemRow 33 - Cell 2
35Micki van Empel (Ned)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling TeamRow 35 - Cell 2
37Niels Koyen (Bel) DNCS/PRO 2012 Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling TeamRow 37 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Sprint 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabo - Giant Offroad Team.3pts
2Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team2Row 1 - Cell 3
3Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink/ Leontien.nl Pro1Row 2 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Fastest Lap
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team0:07:57
2Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team0:07:57
3Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team0:07:58


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1