Boels Ladies Tour 2019

Latest News from the Race

Majerus takes 2019 title ahead of Wiebes and Klein

Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans) wins the overall title at the 2019 Boels Ladies Tour (Image credit: Getty Images)


Boels DolmansChristine Majerus sewed up the overall 2019 Boels Ladies Tour title in Arnhem, the Netherlands, on Sunday, having taken the race lead the day before on the penultimate stage after having been part of the day's main breakaway.

The rider from Luxembourg held a 30-second lead over Canyon-SRAM's Lisa Klein, with Lorena Wiebes (Parkhotel Valkenburg) a further two seconds back, going into the last stage from Nijmegen to Arnhem, and those three riders also made up the final podium – although Wiebes and Klein changed places thanks to Wiebes' time bonus for taking second place on the final stage to winner Chiara Consonni (Valcar Cylance Cycling).

It was a long way from enough to allow Wiebes to overhaul Majerus, however, who finished just inside the top 10 to win the six-day race by 26 seconds from the Dutch sprinter.

"This is my biggest victory, and I'm very happy to bring this jersey home," the 32-year-old reigning Luxembourg road race and time trial champion told reporters at the finish.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Stage 5 results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling  3:56:26
2Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg 
3Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb 
4Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Team Virtu Cycling 
5Eugénie Duval (Fra) Fdj Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 
6Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Wnt Rotor pro Cycling Team 
7Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Sunweb 
8Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon / /Sram Racing 
9Alison Jackson (Can) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank 
10Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  17:01:17
2Lorena Wiebes (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg  0:00:26
3Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon / /Sram Racing  0:00:30
4Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb  0:00:34
5Amy Pieters (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  0:00:35
6Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott  0:00:42
7Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Trek-Segafredo  0:00:47
8Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Wnt Rotor pro Cycling Team  0:00:49
9Anna Van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  0:00:52
10Leah Thomas (USA) Bigla  0:00:54

2019 Boels Ladies Tour:

September 3: Prologue - Sittard – Geleen,  3.8km

September 4: Stage 1 - Stramproy – Weert, 123.0km 

September 5: Stage 2 -  Gennep – Gennep, 113.7km

September 6: Stage 3 - Nijverdal – Nijverdal, 156.8km

September 7: Stage 4 - Arnhem – Nijmegen, 135.6km

September 8: Stage 5 - Nijmegen – Arnhem, 158.8km