Bradford wins men's singlespeed title

The first national championship of the calendar year, the 2012 USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships, opened Wednesday as more than 1,000 of the nation's top cyclo-cross racers began descending on Badger Prairie Park outside Madison, Wisconsin.

The event's first two national titles were awarded as the nation's premier singlespeed 'cross riders were recognized after traversing laps of the 2.1-mile rolling course.

In the men's singlespeed race, an early attack turned into a two-rider showdown over the final two laps. J.T. Fountain and Aaron Bradford (Bay 101-HRS-Rocklobster) attacked the field early in the race and determined the winner would be one of the pair. Fountain started the last of the five-lap race with approximately a three-second edge, but Bradford's 8:50 on the last lap was 18 seconds faster than Fountain, earning Bradford the win. A surging Michael Gaertner (Coeur d'Alene Velo Racers-Vertical Earth) was nearly able to overtake Fountain in the home stretch, but had to settle for bronze. Scott Chapin (Bay 101-HRS-Rock Lobster Cyclocross) and Braden Kappius (Team Clif Bar) rounded out the top five.

"In singlespeed racing, the races are all so close, but so far. You just wait for mistakes to happen. We all had our own little mistakes here and there," Bradford said. "I just went out there and sized the barriers up. It came down to the last lap and I decided to hop them and that's where I got my gap. It was good. It's rewarding. It's a fun time."

In the women's singlespeed race, Jennifer Gaertner (Coeur d'Alene Velo Racers) grabbed the hole shot, but Kari Studley (Team Redline) quickly surged to take the lead on lap one and never looked back. After the first of four laps, Meghan Korol had a strong hold on second place, less than a half minute behind Studley. The two leaders posted sub-10:30 lap times the final two times around the course to expand their lead over Lauri Webber, Nocole Borem (Men of Steel Racing) and Jennifer Maxwell (Van Dessel Factry Team), who rounded out the podium.

The event continues Thursday with Masters races as men 55-and-over along with women 40-and-over will vie for national championships. The event culminates Sunday, January 8 with the elite men's and women's races, which will be streamed live at

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Singlespeed men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Aaron Bradford (Bay11/HRS/Rocklobster)0:44:47
2JT Fountain0:00:14
3Michael Gaertner (Coeur d 'Alene Velo Racers (CDAVR)/Vertical Earth)0:00:16
4Scott Chapin (Bay 11/HRS/Rock Lobster Cyclocross)0:01:23
5Braden Kappius (Team Clif Bar)0:03:05
6Daniel Casper (Revolution Cycle and Ski)0:03:28
7Alex Work (Bay 11/HRS/Rock Lobster Cyclocross/Bay 11/HRS/Rock Lobster)0:03:51
8Kristopher Auer (Charm City Cycling LLC)0:04:32
9Michael Curtes (Twin Six)0:04:38
10Jeff Curtes0:04:41
11Curtis Boivin (
12Michael James0:06:10
13Scott Smith (TVB Race/ Tomato Head)0:06:24
14Cole Sprague0:06:35
15Mark Babcock (Nouveau Velo Cycling Team/Deeds Publishing)0:07:05
16Gerald Chabot (
17Cale Wenthur (Team Pegasus)0:07:32
18Greg Heck0:07:44
19Daniel Studley (Mafia Racing/Pabst/Felt/Mafia Racing)0:07:50
20Andy Swartz (Brazen Dropouts/Brazen Dropouts Cycling Team)0:08:10
21Rudy Sroka (Lake Effect Cycling Team)0:08:28
22Timothy Willcox (Magnus)0:08:37
23David Price (Brazen Dropouts/Brazen Dropouts Cycling Team)0:08:43
24David Schuneman (Velo Duluth)0:08:50
25Ross Giese (Team Velocause)0:10:11
26Christopher Jensen (ROBOTS <3)0:10:30
27Anthony (Tony) Bilotta (Van Dessel Factory Team)0:10:39
28Sasha Reschechtko (Team TATI)0:10:51
29Rory Murphy (Team TATI)0:10:53
30Ara Oggoian (Team Bicycle Heaven)0:13:22
-1lapKip Spaude (ISCorp Cycling Team)Row 30 - Cell 2
-1lapJeff HuserRow 31 - Cell 2
-1lapJon Wienandt (Team Fond Du Lac/Oshkosh Cyclery)Row 32 - Cell 2
-1lapBrian Milnick (Routine Leg Works)Row 33 - Cell 2
-1lapRobert Ogren (Kenwood Racing)Row 34 - Cell 2
-1lapJoshua ArendsRow 35 - Cell 2
-1lapChad Cheeney (Durango Devo)Row 36 - Cell 2
-1lapKeith Ortiz (Half Acre Cycling)Row 37 - Cell 2
-1lapStephen Davidson (Titletown Flyers Cycling Team)Row 38 - Cell 2
-1lapJohn GroszRow 39 - Cell 2
-1lapJohn Mcneill (Team Pegasus)Row 40 - Cell 2
-1lapTimothy Strege (Racers Against Childhood Caner)Row 41 - Cell 2
-1lapJonah Thompson (High Desert Bicycles Team)Row 42 - Cell 2
DNSRobert Higgins (Johnny Sprockets)Row 43 - Cell 2
DNSZach Lail (Mock Orange Bikes/SmartStop / Mock Orange Bikes p/b Ridley)Row 44 - Cell 2
DNSWalid Abu Ghazaleh (The Pony Shop)Row 45 - Cell 2
DNSCharles Von Isenburg (Mock Orange Bikes)Row 46 - Cell 2
DNSMichael SeamanRow 47 - Cell 2
DNSJay ThorntonRow 48 - Cell 2
DNSJon Miller (Platinum Performance Cycling Team)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFJoe Curtes (Twin Six)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFAndrew TrewynRow 51 - Cell 2
DNFTravis Braun (Magnus)Row 52 - Cell 2
DNFTed Burns (Bell Lap Racing/Team Bell Lap)Row 53 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Wheeler (Gopher Wheelmen/Gopher Wheelman)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNFSean Rudzinsky (Competitive Edge Cycling)Row 55 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Singlespeed women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kari Studley (Team Redline)0:41:26
2Meghan Korol0:00:28
3Lauri Webber0:01:19
4Nicole Borem (Men Of Steel Racing LLC)0:02:05
5Jennifer Maxwell (Van Dessel Factory Team)0:02:07
6Elizabeth Sheldon0:02:13
7Jennifer Gaertner (Coeur d 'Alene Velo Racers (CDAVR))0:04:05
8Katina Walker (
9Alice Drobna (WebCyclery Racing/
10Dorothy Wong (The TEAM /The TEAM - SoCalCross)0:06:13
11Julie Lewis-Sroka (Lake Effect Cycling Team/Team Lake Effect)0:07:52
12Kimberly Thomas (Fusion Cycling Team/Fusion IT)0:08:59
DNSCristina BegyRow 12 - Cell 2
DNSChristina Probert (The TEAM)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNSJulia Casals (Van Dessel Factory Team)Row 14 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews