Zimbabwe aims for gold at African MTB Champs

Zimbabwe confirmed their entry for the African mountain bike championships due to be held in Windhoek, Namibia, on the July 28. The event is a Beijing Olympics Qualifying event, and the Zimbabweans will see stiff competition from two time continental winner, Namibian Mannie Heymans. Heymans has won the Trans Alp and Cape Epic multi-day stage races in past seasons. South Africans Burry Stander and Kevin Evans will also be riders to watch. The Zimbabwe squad includes 2005 Zimbabwean mountain bike National Champion Antipass Kwari and Wonder Matenje who has spent time with Roger De Vlaeminck's European cyclo-cross racing team.

Zimbabwe men's squad: Antipass Kwari, Wonder Matenje, Prince Ngundu, Michael Murdoch, Wayne Davidson, Trevor Volker, Warren Carne, Lee McNab, Garth Steinbach and Des Stephens

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Sue George is an editor at Cyclingnews.  She coordinates all of the site's mountain bike race coverage and assists with the road, 'cross and track coverage.