Zabel to defend Henninger Turm title

The 45th edition of the German one-day race Rund um den Henninger Turm in Frankfurt will take place on May 1, the traditional date of the 1.HC event. Organisers are happy with the international field they were able to attract, assembling 176 riders of 22 teams to battle it out on the shortened loop of 190 kilometres in and around the famous banking metropole.

Participating big names include of course defending champion Erik Zabel (Milram), who was able to sprint to victory three times at the race already: in 1999, 2001 and last year. Also lining up will be Jens Voigt (CSC), Robbie McEwen (Davitamon-Lotto), Erik Dekker (Rabobank) and Michael Albasini (Liquigas) - but Zabel will also have to watch out for German Gerolsteiner, who will be at the start with Davide Rebellin, winner in 2003, as well as Stefan Schumacher and David Kopp. Further rivals will come from his former T-Mobile team, which will send Steffen Wesemann and Patrik Sinkewitz.

The peloton will be composed of eight ProTour outfits, twelve Continental Pros and two Continental teams, amongst which Team Lamonta, the new squad of Danilo Hondo, also a threat to Zabel if it comes down to a sprint finish. The following teams will take part in the Henninger Turm race on Monday, May 1: T-Mobile, Milram, Davitamon-Lotto, CSC, Liquigas, Rabobank and Phonak (ProTour), Wiesenhof-Akud, Elk Haus, Vorarlberg, Chocolade Jaqcues, Landbouwkrediet, Kaiku, Barloworld, Skil, Intel, Navigators, Lamonta and Regiostrom-Senges.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1