UCI to host awards gala

The UCI will host a gala to award trophies to the winners of 2006 UCI ProTour, and to winners of each UCI Continental Circuits following the Giro di Lombardia. On Sunday, October 15, in Como, Italy, the winners of the UCI ProTour, and Europe, Africa, America, Asia and Oceania Continental Tours will receive their awards.

Most of the races have been decided; Alejandro Valverde has wrapped up the individual UCI ProTour and the team and country rankings have almost been decided. The trophy for the leader of the UCI Europe Tour is still up for grabs. Currently, Niko Eeckhout (BEL) is in the lead over Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita), and the final ranking of the UCI Europe Tour will be decided at the Giro del Piemonte.

The winners of the individual rankings for the UCI Africa Tour, UCI America Tour, UCI Asia Tour and the UCI Oceania Tour are, respectively, Jérémie Ouédraogo (BUR) - winner of the 2005 Tour du Faso and the first rider from Burkina Faso to be crowned by the UCI, Colombian, José Serpa, Iranian rider, Ghader Mizbani Iranagh and Gordon McCauley (NZL)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura's specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.