Trek/Volkswagen announces full lineup

The Trek/Volkswagen mountain bike team will continue for another two years (until the end of 2006), the two companies have confirmed. Although numbering just three riders, the 2005 VW/Trek team boasts more national and world championship titles than any other current U.S. team:

Chris Eatough has five 24-hour Solo World Championship titles and two 24-hour solo National Champion titles, and consistently places in the top ten at the NORBA XC Nationals; Susan Haywood is a two-time NORBA National STXC Champion; and Jeremiah Bishop is the 2003 Pan American Champion and 2004 NORBA National winner with an eye towards more National wins in 2005. The team will be riding the Top Fuel 110 as well as the redesigned Trek Fuel EX 9 mountain bike.

The Trek/VW jersey will also be worn by 24 riders who are part of Trek's Local Hero regional race program, run by Ernie Martin. The regional teams consist of aspiring pro, women and masters class riders who are focused on dominating local, grassroots events and inspiring cyclists and non-cyclists alike.

The goal for both squads is to dominate the North American scene by continuing to focus on the widest range of events possible: From NORBA Nationals to the Teva Mountain Games and an all-out assault on the Trans-Alp challenge in Europe.

In addition to the mountain bike time, Trek and Volkswagen are also sponsoring nine regional road racing teams (including one in Canada), and Volkswagen is a co-sponsor of the new Trek/Dasani Fit for Women Demo Tour.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1