Skip to main content

Tour de l'Avenir without Colombian riders

This year's Tour de l'Avenir will have to do without the Colombian team, which has announced today that it will not be able to fly to Europe because of Visa problems. The formation of six riders (Edwin Parra, Manuel Mayorga, Diego Montoya, Wilson Marentes, Juan Pablo Forero and Rafael Montiel) was scheduled to take a flight on August 28, to participate in the most prestigious Under 25 event in Europe which will see ten stages unfold from August 31 to September 9.

The following teams were invited by French organiser ASO: Ag2R Prevoyance, Agritubel, Germany, Germany, Auber 93, Belgium, Bouygues Telecom, Chocolade Jacques - Topsport, Cofidis, Columbia, Cycling Team Capec, Française Des Jeux, France, Jartazi-7Mobile, Landbouwkrediet - Colnago, Norway, Omnibike Dynamo Moscow, Orbea, Perutnina Ptuj, Portugal, Rabobank, Ukraine, Unibet Davo and Viña Magna-Cropu. No American teams were invited either.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1