Simoni skips Tour

The Lampre-Caffita team has announced its final line-up for the Tour de France - without 2003 Giro winner and 2005 runner-up Gilberto Simoni. No detailed explanation has been forthcoming from the team, which simply said in a statement that its technical staff had acknowledged, "Simoni's request not to participate in this year's Tour de France."

In Simoni's absence, Eddy Mazzoleni will lead the Tour team, which will consist of GianLuca Bortolami, Salvatore Commesso, Gerrit Glomser, David Loosli, Evgeni Petrov, Daniele Righi, Alessandro Spezialetti, and Gorazd Stangelj.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1