Second edition of Saint Patrick’s Classic

Supported by Down District Council, the Tour of Ulster promoters (Ulster Cycle Promotions Club) is running the second edition of the point-to-point Downpatrick-Armagh St. Patrick’s Classic on Sunday, March 19, 2006. The race will roll out from Downpatrick Leisure Centre, along to Annacloy, across to Ballynahinch, Dromore, Lurgan, Charlemont, Blackwatertown, before making its way to Armagh City, finishing at the 30 mph signs on the Cathedral Road.

Winner of the inaugural Saint Patrick’s Classic last year was Martyn Irvine (Ards CC), who recently competed for Ireland in the Tour of Siam in Thailand. A substantial prize list has been announced; with prizes for the first six across the line, first unplaced lady, first unplaced 3rd category, first unplaced veteran and first unplaced Junior. The winner will be awarded with the Gerald Long Memorial Cup.

Starting at 11.00 am (not 1.00pm as advertised in the Cycling Ireland Handbook), the sign-on will be in Downpatrick leisure centre from 09.30am. With the Leisure Centre expecting a busy day, all competitors are advised use the car park opposite the front gates of the Leisure Centre.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1