Sagan awarded Velo d'Or

Peter Sagan has been awarded the Vélo d'Or for 2016, in recognition of an outstanding season that saw him dominate the UCI's rankings. It is the first time that the Slovakian has won the title as he joins the likes of Chris Froome, Alberto Contador, Tom Boonen and Miguel Indurain as winners of the award.

Sagan finished well clear of Froome in the UCI World Ranking after taking 14 victories this year, including the Tour of Flanders, three stages of the Tour de France, the European Championships and his second consecutive world title. Sagan also claimed his fifth Tour de France green jersey and said last month that he would be targeting a record equalling sixth in 2017.

With 86 points compared to 70, Sagan beat Froome who won his third Tour de France title. Vuelta a España winner Nairo Quintana, took the third spot with 43 points.

Romain Bardet succeeded Thibaut Pinot in the Vélo d'Or Francaise, winning by a considerable margin. The AG2R La Mondiale rider, who finished second at this year's Tour de France, got 120 points with Arnaud Demare next best with 88. Julian Alaphilippe took 62 points to finish in third place.

As well as his second place at the Tour, Bardet claimed a stage win following an impressive solo breakaway and finished second overall at the Criterium du Dauphine.

The Vélo d'Or is run by the French Vélo magazine and was initiated in 1992 with Indurain winning the first and second awards. Alberto Contador has won the award more times than any other rider, winning it a total of four times, most recently in 2014. Froome won last year's, ahead of Sagan and Fabio Aru.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1