Rasmussen Danish rider of the year

Michael Rasmussen

Michael Rasmussen (Image credit: CyclingWorld.dk)

Michael Rasmussen (Rabobank) was awarded rider of the year 2005 in Denmark on Thursday. The Rabobank rider was the king of the mountains in the Tour de France and won stage 9.

Five riders were nominated for the award:

Alex Rasmussen: World Champion in the scratch race
Mie Bekker Lacota: Junior World Road Champion
Lars Bak: Danish Champion and winner of the Tour de L'Avenir
André Steensen: Winner of the UCI junior world ranking.
Michael Rasmussen: Winner of stage 9 and King of the Mountains in the Tour de France.

Rasmussen was also the rider of the year in Denmark in 1999 and 2003.

Courtesy of CyclingWorld.dk

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1