Rabobank riders stack best Dutch cyclist nominees

As the country's largest professional cycling organisation, it's no surprise that the Dutch Rabobank team's riders have dominated the list of nominees for Dutch cyclist of the year, Retiring rider Michael Boogerd will have his last chance to win the Gerrit Schulte Trophy. He will face stiff competition from track World Champion Theo Bos, U23 World Champion Lars Boom and Thomas Dekker. Elite men's World time trial bronze medallist Stef Clement (Bouygues Télécom) is the non-Rabobank nominee in the competition.

The Gerrie Knetemann Trophy for espoirs is also dominated by the Rabobank riders. Robert Gesink, Bauke Mollema and Martijn Maaskant will be up against Rudi van Houts and Tom Stamsnijder.

On the women's side, DSB Bank team-mates former World Champion Marianne Vos and Ronde van Drenthe winner Adrie Visser will be up against T-Mobile's Chantal Beltman, the winner of the Swedish World Cup round, Dutch 'cross champion Daphny van den Brand and BMX World Champion Willy Kanis.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1