Skip to main content

Metro Volkswagen expands in 2009

In its second year with title sponsor Metro Volkswagen, the FCS Cycling Team is progressing toward its goal of becoming one of the top teams in the US.

The women's program for 2009 will include talented U23 Women as well as junior rider Coryn Rivera (who has won 20 Junior National titles). The Metro women will be working closely with Jim Miller and USA Cycling's Women's development program in Europe. In conjunction with USA Cycling, Metro will be sending riders to race in Europe at the highest level of competition, in hopes of developing future World and Olympic Champions.

On the Men's side, the team will be headed-up by Christian Helmg, winner of Hotter then Hell 100. Also added to the program for 2009 will be Switzerland's Benjamin Baumgartner, who is currently competing in Tour of Hainan, and Brad Armstrong who in 2007 rode for Orbea Spain, and in 2008 rode in Europe with the US National Development Team.

Women: Ashley Anderson, Casey Gale, Kim Geist (Current individual and team pursuit national champion), Natalie Klemko (Current Collegiate National Crit champion), Shannon Koch, Sinead Miller (Two-time Junior National Crit Champion and Current Collegiate National Champion), Lisa Oliver, Coryn Rivera (Current junior road race, criterium and track national champion), Whitny Shults, Andrea Wilson

Men: Joe Miller, Brad Armstrong, Benjamin Baumgartner (3rd place U23 European Championships), Evan Bybee, Peter Carey, Andrew Dahleim, Andrew Gonzales, Christian Helmig, William Rader (two-time Junior National Champion MTB), Corey Ray, Austin Robinson, Will Snodgrass, Phill Snodgrass, Leo Frayre

Additional editorial assistance by Susan Westemeyer (SW)