Malaysian national team looking to Langkawi

The leading Asian rider Anuar Manan (Letua Cycling Team)

The leading Asian rider Anuar Manan (Letua Cycling Team) (Image credit: Kurt Jambretz)

The winner of the sprint classification at this year's Tour de Langkawi, Anuar Manan, will ride for the Malaysian national team at the 14th edition of Asia's premier road stage race in 2009. He'll be joined by Ahmad Haidar Anuawar, Suhardi Hassan, Mohd Noor Riduan Zainal and Mohammed Zamri Saleh.

President of Malaysia National Cycling Federation (MNCF) and Executive Chairman of Le Tour de Langkawi, Haji Abu Samah, said that, "MNCF's decision to absorb Anuar and Ahmad Haidar in the national team was the right one as the two of them are among the most talented riders in the country and their entry will strengthen the national team not only for Le Tour de Langkawi 2009 but also as a preparation of the national squad to compete in various sports internationally."

Held from February 9-15 next year, the Tour de Langkawi remains a 2.HC event and despite problems in recent years has managed to survive, aiming to solidify its position as a major highlight of the UCI Asia calendar.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1