Liquigas and Lampre for Giro del Trentino

Liquigas team manager Roberto Amadio has named the squad that will race the Giro del Trentino, scheduled from April 18-21. The team, directed by Mario Scirea, will be captained by Dario Cioni and Franco Pellizotti, and will also include Dario Andriotto, Eros Capecchi, Francesco Failli, Roman Kreuziger, Manuel Quinziato and Charles Wegelius.

Lampre-Fondital will be sending its top man Damiano Cunego to the Giro del Trentino and the Giro d'Oro that precedes it. Cunego is looking at improving his form in time for the Giro d'Italia.

At the Giro d'Oro - the race in which he obtained his first pro victory - Cunego will captain a team containing Paolo Tiralongo, Marzio Bruseghin, Morris Possoni, Matteo Bono, Sylwester Szmyd, Mauro Santambrogio and Marius Sabaliauskas. The team will be led by sports director Giuseppe Martinelli.

Cunego will then head to the Giro del Trentino (which he won in 2004) with the ambition of doing well in the first stage, but not necessarily the overall. That race will see the return of Daniele Bennati, who has recovered from bronchopneumonia that stopped him for several weeks. With Cunego and Bennati there will be Paolo Tiralongo, Sylwester Szmyd, Matteo Bono, Marzio Bruseghin, Morris Possoni and Marius Sabaliauskas. Giuseppe Martinelli and Maurizio Piovani will serve as sports directors.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1