Kersten and Meares headline Australian team for Sydney

Olympic gold and bronze medallist, Anna Meares, 22, and Ben Kersten, 24, who last week claimed four gold medals at the Australian Championships will headline the Australian 'Cyclones' team for the final round of the 2005/06 UCI Track World Cup Classics series at Sydney's Dunc Gray Velodrome March 3 to 5.

It will be the final hit out for Kersten, Meares and Victorians Shane Perkins, 19, and Sean Finning, 21, before they line up in the Commonwealth Games ten days later in Melbourne. They will be part of a 193-rider field from 35 countries in what promises to be a big series finale.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1