Hunter withdraws from RadioShack's Flanders line-up

Robbie Hunter's injury misfortunes have given rise to youngster Michal Kwiatkowski for the Tour of Flanders.

Team RadioShack announced via statement that Hunter had not recovered in time for Sunday's race, having crashed on the first part of the final stage of the Three Days De Panne on Thursday. The South African is suffering bruised floating ribs and paravertebral muscles.

Twenty-year-old Kwiatkowski from Poland, who finished third at De Panne to teammate Sebastian Rosseler, will now take Hunter's place.

Kwiatkowski joined Team RadioShack at the beginning of the 2011 season having previously ridden for the Spanish continental Caja Rural team. In 2008 he was world junior time trial champion over Jakob Steigmiller and Taylor Phinney.

Team RadioShack line-up for the Tour of Flanders: Fumiyuki Beppu, Manuel Cardoso, Michal Kwiatkowski, Geoffroy Lequatre, Robbie McEwen, Dmitriy Muravyev, Gregory Rast, Sébastien Rosseler


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1