Skip to main content

Hoy named Sportsman of the Year by SJA

Chris Hoy had tears of joy in his eyes

Chris Hoy had tears of joy in his eyes (Image credit: Casey Gibson)

Olympic gold medal winners Chris Hoy and Rebecca Adlington were named Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year by the British SJA (Sports Journalists' Association) at their 60th Sports Awards on Wednesday. Hoy, who won three track cycling gold medals at the Beijing Olympics topped the men's poll ahead of runner-up Lewis Hamilton, 2008 Formula One world champion, and third place finisher Ben Ainslie, winner of three Olympic yachting gold medals. Rebecca Adlington, double Beijing gold medal winner in swimming, was awarded Sportswoman of the Year ahead of runner-up Nicole Cooke, Olympic and world road race champion, and Christine Ohuruogu, Beijing gold medalist in track and field's 400 meter event.

Great Britain's cycling team, which won 14 gold medals in Beijing and 11 gold medals at the track world championships in Manchester in March, was named team of the year.

The SJA is comprised of British-based sports writers, photographers, broadcasters and editors, more than 600 of whom participated in the 2008 Sports Awards poll.