Herrero leads Euskaltel in Switzerland

By Antonio J. Salmerón

David Herrero, second in the final general classification of the Euskal Bizikleta, will be the leader of the Basque Euskaltel-Euskadi team at the Tour de Suisse, taking place from June 10-18. Herrero will be accompanied by Unai Etxebarria, Iker Flores, Andoni Aranaga, Rubén Pérez, Markel Irizar, Joseba Zubeldia and neo-pro Alan Pérez, the latest acquisition of the orange squad after having to replace Roberto Laiseka, who crashed heavily in stage 12 of the Giro d'Italia and was forced to abandon.

The Basque ProTour team has one main goal this season, namely winning a stage of a ProTour race. Iker Flores, Andoni Aranaga and Markel Irizar are back in competition after their participation in the Giro. Unai Etxebarria showed his good form in the recent Euskal Bizikleta, where he won the G.P. Montaña.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1