Gerrans to return to defend Tour Down Under crown

Simon Gerrans (Ag2r)

Simon Gerrans (Ag2r) (Image credit: Mark Gunter)

2006 Tour Down Under winner, Simon Gerrans will lead Ag2R Prévoyance to defend his title in 2007 edition. The French team will arrive on streets of Adelaide and the regions of South Australia with the aim of back-to-back victories.

Race Director Mike Turtur said, "Ag2R is only one of two teams to have ridden every Tour Down Under since 1999 and we are delighted they will be here to compete at the ninth edition of the race."

Ag2R won the Tour Down Under three times, first in 2000 with Gilles Maignan, followed in 2003 with Mikel Astarloza and this year with Australia's own Simon Gerrans.

"I spoke to Simon last night and he is really pleased with the team line up being sent to the Tour Down Under to help him defend his title," continued Turtur. "It is a world class Tour de France team, a strong rider line up and three of the eight riders competed at this year's Tour de France."

The Ag2R Prévoyance team for the 2007 Tour Down Under will be: Simon Gerrans (Aus), Cyril Dessel (Fra), Ludovic Turpin (Fra), Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr), Samuel Dumoulin (Fra), Carl Naibo (Fra), Renaud Dion (Fra) and Christophe Riblon (Fra)

The 2007 Tour Down Under will be held 16 – 21 January 2007.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1