Buitenpoort – Flexpoint calls it a successful season

The Dutch women's team Buitenpoort – Flexpoint has expressed satisfaction with its 2007 season, which has seen the squad notch up 73 victories. Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel took a superb victory in the women's Ronde van Vlaanderen, although she had a bad end to the season when she crashed in the Euregio Tour and broke her pelvis, hip, jaw and thigh. Co-leader Susanne Ljungskog won the Open de Suède Vargarda, another women's world cup race, while Linda Villumsen won the European time trial championship and the overall victory in the Route de France Féminin, and Amber Neben the Tour de l'Aude and the Redlands Classic for the 2nd time. Loes Gunnewijk also improved, winning stages in the Tour de l’Aude and Euregio Tour, as well as becoming Dutch time trial champion.

Jean-Paul van Poppel's team also won a total of six national championships with Villumsen (Danish TT), Ljungskog (Swedish road and TT), Annette Beutler (Swiss road), and Elsbeth Vink (Dutch MTB and MTB marathon).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1